Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2014-07-18 14:41
Chinese Version | 中文版
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 002
2014 July

Building pigeonholes for the deprived
Urging the government to address to people's pressing needs

Many people would like to have a dwelling place, even to make luxurious decorations in order to live comfortably, because we believe a cozy and peaceful home has an impact on building up a sense of security and connecting family members. In fact, this is also important to low-income families as well, not to mention that they do not have the basic furnishings, electrical appliances that are beyond repair and safety at home etc. Crowded, messy home greatly reduced their drive to move on. Low income families are helpless when facing all these because the CSSA fell short of their needs.

Interim term plan help build pigeonhole

In view of such a need, we had collaborated with The Hong Kong Institute of Architect, Pricerite Store Limited and 3C Digital Limited to launch a "Building.Power" project, successfully improved the quality of living and family relations for these families. Even after the completion of the project, the need has been on the increase, together with the disparity between rich and poor and housing problem, it has become a pressing need for the elders and deprived families, therefore, with the Partnership Fund for the Disadvantaged, we have partners like Chan Dang Social Services Foundation, Habitat for Humanity China continuously operate 3 phases of similar project, through their sponsorships, we are able to make some basic renovation and refurbishment to these families. We have an accumulation of 2,222 families throughout these 7 years of 4 phases of projects, with the total sponsorship of $9,185,800, an average of $4,134 to each family.

We found that some families, cannot afford a decent bed, some single families with children do not have a washing machine, refrigerator, the parents were exhausted from daily household chores and were too tired to concern for their children. For some elders, they do not have a water heater for shower and they had to boil water whenever they need to shower which posed potential threats to them as they carry hot water to shower. They cannot afford to replace the broken floor tiles, nor do they have the appropriate storage space for their belongings which were scattered all over the places, hence increase the possibility of falling over. Those who were allocated public housing would also need money for house removal or some basic renovation to the new flat. The government should not turn a blind eye to all these.

Government should bear the responsibility

Those projects mentioned above could only meet the immediate needs of these families, no matter how urgent their needs are our projects would eventually come to an end, from a long term means, we appeal that the government should consider incorporating this element in the integrated family service centre, or built-in this element in other funds (such as the Community Care Fund); or continue to subsidise these projects in regular government subvention. At the same time, the government should review the CSSA, to offer assistance to those who could not afford the expenses of house removal, so that these families would not be left out miserably.

Before the renovation
Before the reonvation

 

After the reonvation
After the renovation

 

Thank you card
Thank You Card

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2014-07-28 10:29
前往目錄
前往清音目錄

 

002期2014年7月

為貧苦家庭建安樂「蝸居」 籲政府急巿民所需

許多人都想有一個安樂窩,甚至願大灑金錢裝修房屋,以求有一個住得舒適的家,因為我們相信一個舒適、安樂的家對於建立安全感,凝聚家人有明顯的作用。可有想過,對於許多低收入人士、綜援家庭來說,裝修已是遙不可及的奢侈品,更基本的需要,是他們要解決缺乏基本傢俬、電器殘舊失修,面臨家居危險等問題。貧苦家庭面對這種情況,除了個別計劃資助或依靠有心人的捐助外,現實上是一籌莫展,因為現時政府所提供的生活津貼或綜援,未能滿足這方面的需要。

 

短期計劃助貧困 巿民建安樂「窩」

有見貧困巿民這方面的需要,本處早於2005年已與香港建築師學會及實惠傢居廣場、三思數碼公司合作推展「築動.社群」計劃,成功地透過改善家居環境提升受惠者的生活質素及家庭關係。事實上,計劃完結後這類需要更是有增無減,隨着貧富懸殊和房屋問題每況愈下,許多清貧長者及家庭在這方面都有急切的需要,所以本處透過攜手扶弱基金的配對資助,曾先後分別與不同的伙伴,包括陳登社會服務基金會、中華仁人家園協會連續開展了三期同類計劃,藉着直接的金錢資助,協助貧窮家庭改善室內居住環境,包括進行簡單的室內裝修工程和更換/添置合適傢具。經過7年時間,4期計劃累積受惠家庭數目2,222戶,總資助額$9,185,800,平均每戶資助$4,134。

在計劃中我們發現不少家庭,連一張可以讓人安穩睡覺的牀也沒有,一些有年幼子女的單親家庭,缺乏洗衣機、雪櫃,令家長們十分勞累,更無力關心子女或與子女溝通相處;亦有長者因家中缺乏熱水爐而須在廚房中燒水後再搬進洗手間洗澡,過程危險。就算地板損壞或不平也無力更換,或因未有合適的儲物設備,令雜物隨處放置叠高,增加跌倒的危機。不少剛獲派公屋或因家庭問題急需搬遷的住戶,亦無力面對搬遷所需的運輸費、基本裝修或物品購置等龐大開支。貧困家庭面對種種困難,政府實不能視而不見。

政府應承擔責任

上述各期家居改善計劃雖能暫時紓緩這類家庭的需要,但始終受限於短期的資助而必須告一段落,長遠而言,本處呼籲政府應考慮於綜合家庭服務中心內建構此類資助計劃;或納入現時一些主要基金(如關愛基金)的資助範圍;或繼續資助非政府機構推行此類計劃,以支援貧苦家庭。同時,檢視現時的綜援制度,為未能受惠於搬遷津貼的家庭提供適切的援助,使他們不致因搬遷而陷入徬徨的境地。

 


關於「安居‧樂關懷」
「安居‧樂關懷」計劃是為貧困家庭或長者改善其家居設備與環境,並鼓勵受惠家庭貢獻所長,參與義工服務,作為對社會的回饋,並把關懷訊息向社區不斷延展的社區服務計劃。

 


家居改善前:
一家六口低收入家庭,其中2名子女有專注力不足及過度活躍症,獲調遷後,因家境清貧,難以負擔新居裝修及購置傢俬。

 


改裝後:
家居間格可讓4名孩子各有自己小天堂作讀書溫習之用,更可讓一家六口多享家庭生活。

 


圖表:
服務使用者評估達成的目標。

 


受惠者受助後,也以實際行動作出回饋,會寫心意卡支持及鼓勵寄養家庭或兒童之家的兒童,勸勉他們積極面對人生困難和努力向上。

本頁完