Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2014-07-18 14:25
Chinese Version | 中文版
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 002
2014 July

Do you hear the voice of others?

Sensitive social issues are getting more and more, those with opposite opinions refuse to give in to the others, a recent example was that an organisation was attacked as "hijacking the International Day for Families" and holding "suspected anti-LGBT movement" while encouraging family and parents participating/ to participate in family activities and promoting the building of a family of man and woman; at the other end, social welfare organisations that offer services and activities for LGBT was criticised and parents were dissuaded from participating in activities organised by these organisations. Even for good friends, when it comes to difference in values when sensitive issues are concerned, would easily end up in arguments hence spoiling the relationship, not to mention disputable sensitive issues that concerns human rights, ethics, politics, resources allocation, as Hong Kong is now intertwined with conflicting opinions and strong emotions.

From the bright side, people who are willing to show their opinions in such a passionate way, reflects how much they care, which is more positive than following blindly or just turning a blind eye. However, the antagonistic emotion that aroused is full of destructive and negative energy, which divert people’s attention to the heated emotion instead of the reason behind, and those who are involved are easily stirred and fell into such an irrational trap.

Then, how can we move on? How to achieve real democracy while respecting the differences?

The most important quality is to listen whole-heartedly in order to communicate in a positive way, which is also one of the qualities of democracy:

  1. To learn to share with a peaceful, rational and sincere heart or to advocate what we believe and uphold, there is no need to be intimidated or hostile towards other people’s opinions, leave some space for people to understand you and let them have the free will and wisdom to choose.
  2. To learn to respect, accept those with different opinions, we should listen to them, without any conspiracy theory, not to discredit others’ opinions, there is no need to affirm ourselves by attacking others.
  3. To learn to analyse in depth, evaluate objectively with an open mind and perspective even the standpoints are different, to accommodate the differences in our values without any prejudices or bully, it is not necessary to burnt ourselves out by being antagonistic.
  4. To learn to share and exchange in a rational and sensible way, real communication is two-way, there are room for dialogue, real communication helps building up consensus. Even with conflicting values, we can still draw the line of respect.
  5. What is more important is to be aware of our reaction and feelings, we have to manage our emotions, and not to attack others by language or bodily violence.

An ideal civil society must be able to accommodate differences, to have peaceful co-existence, benefiting ourselves without harming the rights of other people, defending the rights without infringing on them and learning how to listen is definitely advantageous to the well-being of Hong Kong.

While we query people in power that they did not hear the voices of their people, are we making the same mistake? Do you hear other people’s voices?

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2014-07-18 14:22
前往目錄
前往清音目錄

 

002期2014年7月

你聽得到別人的聲音嗎?

社會的敏感議題愈來愈多,持正反意見的都各不相讓,最近的例子包括有團體正面鼓勵家庭參與愛爸媽的家庭活動及宣揚男女建家時,被評擊為「騎劫國際家庭日」及「疑反同遊行」;另一邊廂,當有社福機構為同運人士提供服務和協辦活動時,便被批評及呼籲家長不要再參加該機構的活動。即使是要好的朋友,當談到敏感的議題而彼此價值觀不同時,亦容易為爭一口氣而傷了交情,更何況是社會上具爭議性、並涉及人權、道德、政治、資源分配等敏感話題時,不難發現香港現正呈現着各持己見、互相攻擊、交鋒中着強烈情緒的現象。

正向地看,有人願意那般「咬牙切齒」、激情地表達他們的看法,正代表着他們認真地「著緊」和關心,這總比盲目認同或視若無睹來得積極。然而,那種彼此攻擊和敵對的態度及所引發的情緒,卻充滿着破壞力和負能量,讓人只注意那激烈的情緒而不是道理,而自己及對方內在被抑壓的情感也很容易被挑動,不自覺地跌進了非理性的陷阱裏。

那麽我們應該怎樣走下去呢?怎樣才是真正的民主表達、尊重差異呢?

最重要的是我們極需要以真心聆聽作正向溝通,這也是民主素養之一:

  1. 學習以和平、理性和認真的心去分享或宣吿我們所相信和持守的,既不必驚恐,也不用「霸氣」,給別人一點空間去理解和明白你,相信別人有自由意志和智慧為自己作選擇。
  2. 學習以尊重的態度、寬容的胸襟去看待與我們看法不同的人,先靜心地聆聽,不要作陰謀論,不去抹黑別人的論點,無須用攻擊他人來肯定自己。
  3. 在彼此不同的觀點上,學習深入剖析、客觀評估及擴闊自己的視野和角度,接納自己可以不認同對方的論點而不帶歧視或欺壓,毋須用對敵來彼此對待。
  4. 學習理性平和地討論和交流,真正的溝通是雙向的,有議是論非的空間,真誠的對話往往有助建立共識。即使在對立的價值取向下,也可嘗試設下彼此尊重的界線。
  5. 更重要的是留意自己情緒的反應及內在的感受,好好駕馭自己的情緒及避免失控,切忌以言語或人身暴力去攻擊他人。

理想的公民社會,必須尊重差異、共享共存、利己而不自利、維權而不侵權,而懂得聆聽溝通必定有利於推動香港朝此發展。

當我們質疑當權者聽不到人民的聲音時,我們有否犯了同一毛病?你聽得到別人的聲音嗎?

本頁完