Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2015-02-13 17:07
Chinese Version | 中文版
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 005
2015 Jan

Active participation in communities
Elders voice themselves through photos

In 2005 World Health Organisation (WHO) published "Global age-friendly cities: a guide" laid an important foundation for places in the world to build an age-friendly community. Hong Kong being one of the places well known for longevity should have social policies, service development, and infrastructure in place to meet the needs of the aged. We believe that through the perspective of elders as the first person, to participate in, or even play a part in policy formulation process, can enhance their sense of belongings, and build a society more suited to their needs.

An age-friendly community from the perspective of elders

In order to enable participation, our Elderly Core Business grouped 70 elders through talks, site visits, small groups to assist them to get to know the idea of age-friendly community concept, then to focus on 4 of the 8 essential age-friendly community features, namely: housing, outdoor space, transportation, social participation, and at the same time made use of ‘photovoice’ where elders use their cameras to capture what they think is an age-friendly city.

We compiled all the observations, thoughts and records from the elders to a photo exhibition on 27-29 October 2014 in the Hong Kong Cultural Centre. We chose "transportation" as our priority and intend to meet officials of the Transport Department in March 2015 to channel their concern.

We hope to promote this concept of an age-friendly community through these series of activities to raise the sense of belonging among elders in the community

What is photovoice?
Photovoice has become more and more popular, it uses group analysis method where participants are asked to represent their community or express themselves by taking pictures relevant to the examined community. The process emphasizes more on participants’ involvement and become his agent. This method is more used to allow participants reflect deeply the concerned topic, it is also an empowerment of the marginalised about social policies.
8 characteristics of age-friendly cities:
Outdoor spaces and buildings, Transportation, Housing, Social participation, Respect and social inclusion, Civic participation and employment, Communication and information, Community and health service (from Service Development plan of Age-Friendly Community of “Hong Kong Plan of Action on Ageing” promotional manual, Hong Kong Council of Social Service, May 2009).

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2015-02-13 13:00
前往目錄
前往清音目錄

 

005期2015年1月

積極參與社區建設 長者也發聲

世界衛生組織於2005年起推行「全球老年友好城市建設」計劃,為世界各地共同推動適合長者生活的社區建議奠定了重要的基礎。而本港作為全球人均壽命最高的地區之一,理應由社會政策制訂、服務發展,以至於社區的建設,都能關注長者組群的特性配合他們的需要。我們相信由長者以「第一身」的角度來表達他們的需要,並讓他們參與其中,甚至政策制定的過程,能使他們對其社區更有歸屬感,並更切合他們的需要。

由長者發聲心目中的「長者友善社區」

故此,本處長者核心業務為了能讓「長者」參與社區和城市的建設,集合了本處接近70位長者,先透過講座、考察、小組協助長者了解「長者友善社區」的概念,之後再環繞「長者友善社區」八個特徵指標的其中四個主題:「房屋」、「戶外空間」、「交通」及「社會參與」進行深入探究;同時,運用了較嶄新的方式—「會發聲的相片」(photo voice),讓長者走入社區拿着相機,以相代聲,透過一幅幅的相片分享他們眼中的「長者友善社區」。

觀察、思考和記錄整理成—「會發聲的相片︰我們的長者友善社區」相片展覽,於2014 年10月27 至29日在香港文化中心舉行。由長者親身分享、導賞,讓公眾人士了解他們在社區內的需要。同時,優先選取以「交通」為主題,收集長者意見後,經整理為具體關注及建議,並計劃於2015 年3 月聯合約見運輸署官員提出。

藉這一系列的工作,推動「長者友善社區」的發展,鼓勵長者積極參與,共同推動社區發展,提昇長者對社區的歸屬感,同時推動各界為長者建設一個更適合長者居住的城市。

甚麼是「會發聲的相片」?
「會發聲的相片」(Photovoice)是世界各地近年逐漸盛行的其中一種參與式行動研究手法,由參與者回應同一主題,自行拍攝相片,及/ 或演繹相片想表達的訊息,過程中重視參加者的參與及其主體意識(agency)。此手法較多被用於讓參加者深層反思真正的關注;被邊緣化組群的充權,以及對社會政策的發聲。
老年友好城市的八大指標
老年友好城市的八個特徵指標包括:室外空間和建築、交通、住房、社會參與、尊重和社會包容、公民參與和就業、信息交流及社區與健康服務(參考自2009年5月香港社會服務聯會「回應《香港高齡化行動方案》之『長者友善社區』拓展計劃」推廣手冊)。

 

本頁完