Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2015-02-13 12:55
Chinese Version | 中文版
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 005
2015 Jan

Rethink about incineration and landfilling

Our 3 landfills are expected to reach its maximum capacity after 5 years. There is pressing need to deal with fact that our city is being surrounded by waste, the Environmental Bureau published “Blueprint for Sustainable Use of Resources 2013-2022” in 2013 put forward the future plan to deal with waste. Among them, the major measure is landfill extensions and building of the integrated waste management facility, making up to $30 billions. In order to gain public support, the government produced 4 publicity videos (1)about the consultation. However, sectors of the public rejected this as “the last resort” to tackle waste treatment, the government, on the other hand, should commit to waste reduction at source and recycling.

Yet this article is not about whether the government should or when to implement landfills or incineration, instead, we would like to point out the message behind the impact of our lifestyle and those 4 publicity videos.

Equal treatment of commercial and industrial waste

It is undeniable that the general public has a major role to play in the waste treatment as mentioned in the videos. However, according to 2012 data from the Environment Protection Department, landfills received 13,844 tons of waste, while commercial and industrial waste took up about 46.5%, “domestic waste” took up 45.4%. And according the Department, “domestic waste” includes household waste and also waste generated from daily activities from public facilities and public hygiene service (such as schools, government offices, markets, roads and waste from the sea)(2). Therefore, “domestic waste” should be less than that 45.4%, in this case, it is partial to link the target, aims and objectives and this waste reduction issue to an individual’s lifestyle. We hope that while emphasising reduction and recycling in community education and publicity, the government can also put the same weight on industrial, commercial and construction waste.

An environmental-friendly lifestyle

Hong Kong’s daily per capita domestic waste generation rate is 2 to 2.5 times(3) of Japan, Korea and Taiwan; 1.7 times of OECD(4). Such a high rate goes beyond an individual’s concern, it becomes that of a community and lifestyle issue. Why we create so many wastes? Is it because we lead a consumption-oriented style or excessive spending? These are what we need to study.

If we believe a change in an individual’s way of spending and day-to-day activities to one that emphasises more on waste reduction and recycle could cultivate a similar atmosphere in the community, then we should begin with this in order that everyone can fulfil his civic responsibility; eventually, waste separation, food waste reduction, these can reduce the waste to an acceptable level.

While we appreciate that waste treatment is a complicated issue, we hope the government can work with different stakeholders to work out an effective device.


1. Three landfills and one incinerator video series
2. Environmental Protection Department: "Monitoring of Solid Waste in Hong Kong 2012"
3. http://www.scmp.com/article/989943/lets-talk-trash
4. http://www.oecd-ilibrary.org/environment/environment-at-a-glance-2013_9789264185715-en

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2015-02-12 19:09
前往目錄

 

005期2015年1月

「三堆一爐」是終極答案嗎?

現時香港三個堆填區,預計於未來五年陸續爆滿,「垃圾圍城」的問題迫在眉睫,環境局於2013年提出《香港資源循環藍圖2013-2022》,展示香港未來處理廢物的策略。其中最重要的措施,是擴建三個堆填區及興建焚化爐建議(「三堆一爐」),合共造價達300億。為向市民大眾闡述「三堆一爐」計劃,政府推出4段電視宣傳片(註1),爭取社會支持。民間則不滿政府只以堆填及焚化這處理廢物的「最後措施」去解決問題,卻未有推動源頭減廢及回收的決心,要求政府在將垃圾「掉落海」及「燒掉」前,有具體計劃去推動減廢及回收。

本文不擬討論應否或何時推行「三堆一爐」,而想從政府的宣傳工作訊息,及我們的生活模式,提出本處的觀點。

公平處理工商廢物問題

首先,在宣傳片中,多次提出市民有共同負責任去處理垃圾問題,這當然是無可置疑的。但從環保署2012年的數據,堆填區每日接收13,844公噸廢物,工、商業及建廢物佔香港堆填區接收廢物量的46.5%,「家居廢物」亦佔45.4%。而署方「家居廢物」的定義,除了家居住宅外,更包括公共事務機構日常活動所產生的廢物及公眾潔淨服務所收集的廢物(如學校、政府辦事處、政府街市、道路及海上的廢物等)(註2)。所以,真正「家居產生的廢物」,比例上實遠低於45.4%,故此,如果單單將減廢政策的對象、目標與成效,與市民的個人行為掛鉤,這又實在有欠公平。希望在減廢回收的社區教育和宣傳上,政府能同時關心工、商業及建築廢物的問題。

建立環保生活模式

另外,香港的人均垃圾量是日本、韓國、台灣的2至2.5倍(註3);是經濟合作與發展組織(OECD)各國平均的1.7倍(註4)。垃圾量之高,已不是個人的問題,而是整個社會運作與生活模式的問題了。我們為何會製造那麼多廢物?是否為了追求生活上的方便和滿足享樂、過度消費呢?這是我們值得檢討的。

如果我們相信個人日常生活及消費模式的改變可以帶動社會的減廢及回收風氣,那麼,我們就應從最治本的方法—教育開始,使每位市民可自覺地履行這份公民責任;再加上制度上的配套,如垃圾分類、廚餘處理等設施,以期使香港的垃圾量,至少減至較合理的水平。

我們明白垃圾處理的問題是一項複雜的公共政策,深切期望政府能多與各界溝通,多管齊下,作出有效的施政策略。


註1:名為〈規劃需要篇〉、〈破舊立新篇〉、〈理想與現實篇〉及〈公共衛生篇〉
註2:環境保護署:《香港固體廢物監察報告2012年統計數字》
註3:http://www.scmp.com/article/989943/letstalk-trash
註4:http://www.oecd-ilibrary.org/environment/environment-at-a-glance-2013_9789264185715-en

 

本頁完