Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2015-04-08 11:08
Chinese Version | 中文版
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 006
2015 Mar

Creating a public space more suitable for youth development

When our Happy Teens Club (HTC) came into contact with their members, they found them lacking in venues to develop their hobbies or talents. While most of them considered public space important to them yet there are many restrictions in using them. These trigger us to think if "public space" can more effectively be used by the general public?

From June to December 2014, our HTCs conducted a survey about youths’ opinions on public space, we interviewed 862 young people aged from 12 to 24.

Avoid stigmatising the youth

From the survey, we found that youth are usually labelled adversely when they use public space. Security guards would cast unfriendly stare at them or to interrogate them, some even stop them. All these negative attitudes are associated with nuisances which deter them from using public space. Therefore, we encourage the public to take an unbiased view on them. Youths also have an equal right to use public space. It is their developmental stage that they need to release their energy constructively. Their fond of group activities and interaction are also typical during youth development. At the same time, young people should also observe the guidelines and have the proper attitude in using public space.

Setting up public arenas for talent shows to support youth’s developmental needs

From the findings we found that public space are venues to show off their different talents, it also has strong impact on the followings: building up self-confidence, developing their talents professionally and promoting public appreciation of youth while at the same time building up positive attitude among youth.1 Therefore we urge the government to give more considerations on the facilities for talents shows and create more venues for them when planning public spaces. These are hatching grounds for mutual respect and harmony, for arts to reach out to more people and encourage more cultural exchange.

Lastly, we appeal to the government to face the problem of shortage of public space, to create more public spaces to cater to the needs of the public.


What is "public space"?
"Public space" is a social space that is generally open and accessible to people (Wikipedia, 14 August 2014), regardless of economic or social requirements (though it might not be so in reality), they are free and open to the public, such as the ground section of Times Square, Tamar Park, Kwun Tong waterfront promenade. Public spaces in Hong Kong are mainly administered by Leisure and Cultural Services Department, Lands Department, Building Department and Transport Department,. Some of the "public space: are exchanged with private companies according to plot ratio and administered by them.

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2015-03-23 14:51
前往目錄

 

006期2015年3月

為青少年締造一個更適合他們發展的「公共空間」

本處樂Teen會近年在與青少年會員接觸及提供服務時,發現他們沒有足夠的空間發展志趣或者才藝,而大多數青少年認為「公共空間」對他們是有重要性,但卻表示現時的「公共空間」並不有利他們使用,使用時也有很多的限制。這些意見表達,觸發我們的青年工作者思考:其實「公共空間」是否能更有效地被不同人士使用?

為了解他們的看法,本處樂Teen會於2014年6月到12月期間,進行了一個「青少年對公共空間的觀感」的調查,成功訪問了862名12-24歲的青少年。

避免負面標籤青少年

調查發現青少年使用「公共空間」時容易被掛上負面標籤,例如他們曾遇到的經歷是:被管理員「眼望望」(感覺不友善)或監視、前來查詢他們在做甚麼事,被管理人員停止進行某類活動,或被人聯想成「搞事」,這些負面經歷都影響青少年使用這些「公共空間」的意欲。因此,我們鼓勵普遍市民大眾應減少對青少年在公共空間活動時的負面標籤,市民/管理人員應明白青少年在成長階段,往往喜歡群體活動,跑跳競逐來發展身體及發洩精力,以及滿足其社交需要,故應避免監視他們及將他們視為滋事者,因為他們也有公平使用「公共空間」的權利;同時,青少年在使用「公共空間」時也應保持應有的守則及態度。

建立才藝表演空間有助青少年成長發展需要

此外,我們亦在調查內發現「公共空間」能讓青少年作不同類型的才藝表演,對青少年「促進個人自信心和發展」、「建立才藝專業平台」、「促進社會人士對青少年的欣賞和肯定」,以及「促進青少年正向文化建立」有很大的作用(1)。故此,我們建議政府在規劃「公共空間」時,可以提供更多的彈性作各式各樣的活動,如增設才藝表演區域及設備。這樣的舉措不但能滿足青少年的成長需要,促進其正面發展,亦有助藝術普及化,以及方便不同人士在地區作文化交流,甚至成為一個凝聚和培養互相尊重、和諧共存這些公民意識的孵化箱。

最後,我們呼籲政府正視青少年對「公共空間」的需要,擴大我們的「公共空間」,並使我們「空間」能更適合不同人的需要,亦更公平及合乎大眾需要。

何謂「公共空間」
公共空間(public space),是一個不限於經濟或社會條件(縱然實際情況未必如此),任何人都有權進入的地方〈維基百科〉2014年8月14日。例如,時代廣場的地面路段、添馬艦公園、觀塘海濱長廊等「公眾可共同免費享用的空間」都屬於「公共空間」。香港的「公共空間」主要由康文署、地政總署、屋宇署、運輸署為公眾提供及管理,當中也有部分的「公共空間」是政府與私人公司以地積比率換取,而交由私人公司提供和管理的。

1:相關詳情報告內容,可瀏覽以下網頁:
http://www.hkcs.org/commu/press/2015press/press20150315.html

 

本頁完