Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2015-06-09 12:33
Chinese Version | 中文版
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 007
2015 May

Strive through hardship
Small group home children make a breakthrough in dragon boating

20 June is a special day for children of our small group, volunteers of Operation Breakthrough would bring them to join the first time in mixed group and open group in the dragon boat racing held in Tap Mun. They have been preparing 10 months for this day aiming at a breakthrough in themselves apart from participating in the competition.

This was not the first outing for children of small group home but the first time of a one-year training in dragon boating. Since September last year, they practised in Ma Liu Shui Marine Police Base. Trainers are retired and serving officers from government discipline force of Operation Breakthrough and volunteers from different sectors.

From distorted faces to taking the competition easy

Mr. Stanley Yu (Yu Sir), Director of Operation Breakthrough who is the coordinator of this event, said, "dragon boating is a physically demanding team sport, when these children first got in touch with dragon boat, their faces twisted after 20 strokes, they felt it too harsh and could not handle it. But now, they could make 100 strokes with ease which fulfilled the basic requirement for 400 m. We ask them to put extra effort each time by adding more strokes; they all made huge progress through such training of perseverance and grasping the rhythm of the sport."

Kris, the social worker who also joined the training with these children, saw them grow through the training. She said, "at first children of these 4 small group homes did not get along well, but gradually, they improved in cooperation, communication and initiation, they also develop a keen interest in dragon boating. Some of them just grabbed a piece of bread after school tutorial lessons on Saturday mornings to the training. They continued the practise notwithstanding the coldness and rough sea in winter. From the intensive training, they learnt perseverance and determination."

Witnessing the children grow while undergoing the tough training together

Mr. Lo Wing Kei (Brother Kei), head coach of the dragon boat team came from special unit of the Police force, he has trained the Hong Kong teams, dragon boat teams of the Police force. He is famous for being an iron coach, but when facing these small group home children, his heart softened. He is very supportive and encourages the children that life is like paddling upstream, full of challenges, and he teaches them not to give up despite challenges and difficulties. He teaches the children discipline by being a role model. He has high regard on the children that unlike his other trainees, these children are obedient and he loves and respects them a lot.

"I hope I could join the Police force in the future" wished Fai Wong who is the head of the first row. "I join dragon boating because I want to take part in the race, but now, I look forward to each practise so that I could meet Yu Sir and Brother Kei, they are like family members to me, I want to hug them when I meet them." Being mentors to Fai Wong, Yu Sir and Brother Kei taught him to excel himself physically each time, and he has progressively improved in press up and weight training.

Ah Kei and Ah Lam who are 14 and 17 respectively built up their physical fitness through the practice, they also learnt team spirit and to be more understanding. Ah Lam said, "I learn to be considerate after joining the team, we have differences in our abilities, we cannot expect everyone to be like ourselves." Ah Kei also said, “To paddle at the same time in dragon boating is a constant reminder of our coach, it makes me realise the importance of cooperation in a team.”

Like what Yu Sir said, "People nowadays are very busy, it is not easy to volunteer when one has to give away resources, energy, time, it needs concerted effort to make this training possible. It is an invaluable opportunity for the children and I hope this could bring positive impact to them."

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2015-05-27 17:26
前往目錄
前往清音目錄

 

007期2015年5月

艱苦我奮進 兒童之家孩子突破自我參加龍舟賽

6月20日是端午節,有不少人都會跑去看龍舟競賽﹔而這天對本處而言,最特別之處,便是有來自本處兒童之家的孩子,由義工組織「奮進行動」帶領,首次參與塔門龍舟競賽男女混合組及公開組賽事了。為了這一天,他們已進行10個月的訓練,並在賽前的幾個禮拜積極備戰,目的是突破自己,為成功出線努力練習。

兒童之家的孩子雖非第一次進行外展活動,但卻是首次進行為期接近一年的龍舟訓練,從去年9月開始,每個星期六都到馬料水水警總部進行訓練。訓練人員是「奮進行動」多位退休及現役紀律部隊人員和來自不同界別的義工。

從面容扭曲到能應付基本賽事

負責統籌是次龍舟隊訓練及賽事的「奮進行動」董事余世傑先生(余Sir)說:「扒龍舟是一項需要體力的團隊運動,這些孩子剛接觸扒龍舟時,扒20槳已經面容扭曲,覺得很辛苦和無法應付,到現在可以連續扒超過100槳,完成400米賽事的基本要求。每次訓練不斷地增加對槳數的要求、耐力的訓練及對比賽節奏的掌握,我看到他們很大的進步。」

帶領多個兒童之家孩子參加訓練的社工周麗芬女士(Kris),與家舍孩子在大半年中並肩訓練,也看着他們在整個訓練中不斷成長。她說:「4個兒童之家的孩子起初相處並不算很融洽,但到了後來愈來愈團結,溝通能力和主動性愈來愈強,對扒龍舟的興趣也愈來愈濃厚,有的孩子就算週六學校上午補課,時間緊湊,下午也要咬着麵包趕過來。他們風雨不改也要進行訓練,冬天海面上的風浪其實是又大又冷,但孩子也耐着寒風涼水繼續練習。在艱苦的訓練中,他們學會忍耐和決心。」

艱苦訓練 與孩子同行 見證成長

擔任「奮進行動」龍舟隊總教練的盧永其先生(其哥),特警隊出身,曾訓練港隊、警隊的龍舟隊,出名嚴格,對着參賽隊員從不心軟、手軟,以黑面教官見稱,但對着一班兒童之家孩子,鐵漢也變得柔情萬丈,對孩子循循善誘,在訓練期間常常鼓勵他們,人生就如逆水行舟,不要遇到困難、挫折就放棄。其哥在訓練過程中更是以身作則,賞罰分明,讓孩子從中學習紀律。他更大讚一班兒童之家孩子,與他過去所教的學生不一樣,非常聽話,心中非常尊敬和愛錫他們。

「希望未來能夠加入警隊」,亦是龍舟隊頭欖(第一排帶頭扒的隊員) – 煇煌的志願,他說:「我起初參加龍舟隊目的是因為想參加龍舟賽,但現在我每次龍舟訓練中最期待的是見到余SIR、其哥,我看到他們就好像看到親人一樣,很想抱住他們。」亦師亦友的余SIR、其哥在訓練以外,亦給予煇煌鼓勵、指導和前進的目標,令他不斷挑戰自己,掌手壓的次數和負重能力都大大提升,更學會不輕言放棄。

14歲和17歲的龍舟隊兩名女將阿琦和阿琳也說,在訓練過程中,她們的體能不但大大提升,更學會了體諒和團隊精神。阿琳更說:「參加了龍舟隊後,學懂體諒人,每一個人的能力不一樣,不能要求別人都與自己一樣。」阿琦亦說:「教練成日提醒我們扒龍舟最重要是『齊』,令我深深感受團隊中互相配合的重要性。」

誠如余Sir所說:「現代社會,大家都很忙碌,要義務付出資源、人力、時間,其實一點也不簡單,需要多方面的配合,才能促成這次的合作及訓練。這是孩子們人生難得的機會,我們亦希望這一頁對他們的人生有正面的影響。」

關於「奮進行動」
「奮進行動」於1996年由外籍警務人員始創,以「運動改變人生」為目標,主要參與人員為紀律部隊人員,透過與非政府社會服務機構合作,協助弱勢的青少年,在朋友的關係中,建立正確的目標和價值觀。除了龍舟隊以外,還有拳擊、風帆、欖球、跳舞等不同的運動。
關於本處兒童之家服務
本處兒童之家服務,為4至18歲,因家庭因素而暫時未能得到適當照顧的兒童及青少年,提供家庭式的住宿照顧服務。服務亦着力支援兒童的家庭面對及解決困難,使他們早日回家團聚或得到長期照顧,及協助兒童提升自尊自信、強化解決問題的能力及發揮潛能。


經過多個月的練習,大家扒龍舟時已經愈來愈有默契。


余SIR(左一)、阿琳(左二)、阿琦(中間)、煇煌(右二)和其哥(右二)為龍舟隊加油!

本頁完