Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2015-06-09 11:51
Chinese Version | 中文版
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 007
2015 May

Is economic development the "hard truth"?

Economic development of Hong Kong is at a loss. This is not just a concern of adults but also the younger generation as well. Since 70-80s Hong Kong was carved as a prosperous city, full of vitality. In order to foster an atmosphere of stability during the handover in 90s, freedom in economic development was the key of the government image both internally and externally; until today, the sole business of Hong Kong people, even its core value is to ensure a dazzling economic development.

Recent hot topics like, the third runway, development in the North East New Territories and conflicts with anti-parallel goods trading, striking high prices of properties are related to economic development one way or the other. Such development affects people’s livelihood, which also interlocks with economic development. We could not help but ask: can economic development bring about improvements of the living condition for people of all walks of life?

Take the basic daily necessities for example, most of the people are living in misery. Shopping centres and streets are flooded with luxurious brands such as cosmetics, pharmacies, and jewelry shops. All these push the rents further up but more unaffordable. Added to that is the pressure on transportation, which creates inconvenience to daily lives. Nevertheless, government officials, tycoons, politicians keep saying that economic development is their prime concern and urge the society to achieve this common goal for the so-called well-being of Hong Kong. While on the other hand, people are living in a place where prices have gone up, salary can never meet inflation, long working hours, lack of places for leisure and aggravating housing problem, it has been impossible to enjoy the benefit of economic development, if any; whereas the government continues to launch mega infrastructure projects under the hard truth of economic development, and that any anti-parallel goods trading is adversely affecting tourism, and some businessmen foretold if the political reform package is voted down, Hong Kong’s economy will tumble. All these came from a single argument that economy development is everything, that could only be disagreed!

It is true that economic development brings about prosperity, however, we are more concern about people’s livelihood and quality of life. Though it is no easy task, there should be a balance between “economy” and “livelihood”. If focus is only put on economic development, it merely brings about damaging effects such as commercialisation of education, intensifying conflicts and all sorts of problems arising from living under great pressure; it has a higher cost to pay.

Being a social service organisation whose mission advocates for a more just, fair, sustainable and balanced society, we would be pleased to see that economic development would bring forth a happy, harmonious and healthy life. We anticipate the government to have more concrete strategies to overcome and balance the conflict between economy and livelihood and work out a people-centered policy.

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2015-05-22 15:30
前往目錄

 

007期2015年5月

經濟發展是否就是「硬道理」?

香港發展應何去何從?這不但是近年成年人所關心的,也是不少青年人對未來所憂慮的議題。自70-80年代開始,香港被打造為一個經濟發展蓬勃,生機處處的城市,90年代到回歸前後,為了穩定人心,自由經濟發展仍然是政府對外對內形象工程的主要基調;直至今天,確保香港有亮麗的「經濟發展」似乎是全港市民的首要任務,甚至是核心價值之一。

近期的熱門社會議題,例如興建機場三跑、政府蘊釀東北發展和多輪反內地水貨客的紛爭、公屋樓價破頂等都直接間接地與經濟發展有莫大關係;而這些發展也切切實實影響着民生問題,民生與經濟發展環環緊扣,我們不其然反問:現今的經濟發展是否真的能帶動改善各階層市民的生活?

經濟與民生的矛盾

單從衣食住行這基本的生活需要,絕大部分不同階層的市民都叫苦連天,不少香港的商場和街道店舖都是以化妝品、藥行、金舖或黄金名牌等奢侈品為主,這除了與市民的日常生活需求逐漸脫鈎外,地租被推高、交通壓力增大,造成巿民各種生活上的不便。縱然官員、大商家、政客等常以「經濟發展」為大前題,呼籲、鼓勵社會各界要有共識與和諧,才是對香港好,但市民大眾生活在一個物價高企,人工升幅追不上通漲,長工時、消閒空間嚴重不足,再加上住屋問題嚴峻的大環境下,似乎愈來愈難享受經濟發展帶來的益處。而政府仍用「經濟發展就是硬道理」來「推銷」各項大型工程要立刻 「上馬」 、「反水客」是嚴重影響旅遊業生意,還有商家預言如政改不通過就必經濟大跌等「經濟發展大晒」的單一論調,便變成不容易被認同了。

沒錯,經濟發展是會帶來繁華景象,但我們更應深思的是香港社會民生發展及市民生活的素質。我們明白要在經濟民生兩者當中取其平衡發展,確實是一個艱難學問,然而,如果只側重經濟發展,反效果可能更嚴重:教育商品化、市民在大壓力生活下衍生出各項社會問題及激化矛盾等,帶來的社會成本代價更高。

作為一間以促使社會更趨公平、公正、可持續及均衡發展為使命的社會服務機構,我們樂見經濟發展為社會各階層市民帶來安居樂業、身心健康、社會和諧,但更期待政府能有合適具體策略,化解和平衡現時經濟與民生之間的矛盾,實行以市民大眾為本的施政。

 

本頁完