Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2015-08-19 12:44
Chinese Version | 中文版
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 008
2015 July

From the elderly abuse case in Tai Po Cambridge Nursing Home Limited to Residential Care Service Vouchers Pilot Scheme

The elderly abuse cases in Cambridge private home uncovered the uneven qualities and lack of monitoring. This causes many to raise skepticism towards the hasty implementation of Residential Care Vouchers Pilot Scheme (Residential Vouchers Scheme) without thorough consideration of the direction of elderly policy. Is such policy really offering elderly a choice? What is more puzzling is that if the government really implements the Scheme as recommended by the consultants and allocate $0.8 billion, would that be a mismatch of resources?

Against the direction of "ageing in place"

It is generally agreed that "ageing in place" is the direction of the elderly policy in order that the elderly could continue to live in a familiar community and being taken care of by their family members. This could reduce premature or undue residential places demands. It has been proven that staying at home or making use of community care can effectively reduce the need on residential service especially for those who choose to live with their families. Nevertheless, the present situation is that community care service is in acute shortage and the government did not put enough resources to achieve the goal of ageing in place.

According to the 2014 Hong Kong Council of Social Service findings about waiting list for integrated home care (normal cases), it takes an average of 7 months for meal delivery service, 15 months for escort service, 21 months for household cleaning. Even though they have successfully been admitted to the service, household cleaning can only be provided one hour per month, escort service once every 3 months. The waiting list is extremely long and it has never been improved in terms of resources or needs.

Even though the community care quota has an increase of 35% from 7,010 in 2009 to 9,450 in 2014, but the queuing time for community care has gone up 84%, from 2,330 cases to 4,280 which means the increase of quota cannot meet the service demands. In 2014, the average waiting time for day care and home care service are 8.5 months and 5.3 months respectively, and it is more than a year for some of the areas in the new territories.

Both the elderly and their family members are apprehensive while queuing for service, the elderly would degenerate rapidly without the required support, they may need to go to care and attention home by the time they finally have their turn. This is actually against the ‘age in place’ policy.

Precaution: giving our elderly a real choice

According to Audit Commission of HKSAR, government expenditure in 2013-14 on community care is about $0.97 billion. When compare to the $0.8 billion on Residential Vouchers Scheme, the expenditure on community care for a year will be more than 80%! The government should be cautious whether that $0.8 billion is to be spent on the Residential Voucher Scheme or on the long-standing shortage of Community Care Service.

In fact if we could prevent elderly degeneration at its early stage, it could greatly reduce the demand for residential service. Due to limitation of resources, normal cases cannot enter the long term care system. Elders with mild grade impairment such as mild grade dementia, bodily deficiency but could still walk etc could not get the rehabilitation support from the community and miss the best time for support.

If the government could use that $0.8 billion to review home care and community care service, to assist the frail elders to age in place, to design a comprehensive, integrated, abundant community care service, to provide wide-ranging support or even subsidies for their carers, fine tune the existing elderly community care service vouchers scheme etc, these are what we meant by giving them a choice. The core issue is that the government should have a clear, precise and a long term planning in Elderly policy, these include improvement of the existing bought place scheme, improve the manpower and space ratio in both government subsidised and private homes, to improve the monitoring system on private home, setting up an effective case management system and its related support, review payment of private homes by CSSA etc. All these cater to a comprehensive care to the elderly in all aspects.

Extended reading:
Legco paper CB(2)820/14-15(01): Feasibility Study on Residential Care Service Vouchers Pilot Scheme by Department of Social Work and Social Administration, University of Hong Kong



End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2015-07-31 11:17
前往目錄
前往清音目錄

 

008期2015年7月

從劍橋護老院虐老事件看長者院舍券

劍橋護老院虐老事件曝露出的私院質素參差及監管的問題,使不少人擔憂若政府倉促推出「長者院舍住宿照顧服務券」(下稱:院舍券),而未經更加詳細的考慮安老政策的大方向,是否真正讓長者有選擇呢?更令人擔心的是,若政府通過現時顧問報告中建議的院舍券,並投放8億在院舍券,是否捉錯用神,把資源用在不合適的地方,變成另一個頭痛醫頭,腳痛醫腳的舉措呢?

與「居家安老」背道而馳的安老政策

無論是政府、業界以至服務使用者都認同「居家安老」是安老政策的大方向,讓長者能居住在熟悉的社區和獲家人的照料對長者來說是最好的,以減少過早進入院舍。業界早已確定家居及社區照顧服務能有效減低長者,尤其是那些選擇與家人同住,而不願入住安老院舍的長者對住宿照顧服務的需求。但香港的現況卻是社區照顧服務名額嚴重不足,政府未能投入足夠資源達至「居家安老為本」的安老政策目標。

根據香港社會服務聯會於2014年度關於輪候綜合家居照顧服務(普通個案)情況的數據,長者平均需要7個月輪候送飯服務;而輪候護送服務則平均需15個月;家居清潔更需要輪候21個月。即使長者能成功進入服務,家居清潔服務亦平均只能提供每月一次、每次一小時的服務;護送服務更只能平均三個月提供一次。此等輪候數字至今沒有改善,由於家居照顧服務資源極為有限,但社區需求殷切,引致長者的輪候時間長得難以令人置信。

雖然過去五年,社區照顧服務名額已由2009年的7,010個增至2014年的9,450個(增幅為35%);但不要忘記同期的社區照顧服務,輪候個案數目上升了84%,由2,330宗增至4,280宗;即是說名額的增加根本無法趕得上長者對此服務需要的增加。2014年日間護理服務和家居照顧服務,平均輪候時間分別為8.5個月及5.3個月;而部份新界地區,日間護理服務的平均輪候時間特別長,接近超過一年。

輪候期間,長者及其家人不但心急如焚,長者亦因沒有得到足夠的支援,退化速度加劇,讓原本可居家安老的長者,到成功輪候時或許已經需要輪候院舍了。實際情況可說得上是與「居家安老」政策背道而馳。

應防患於未然 給長者真正的選擇

根據政府審計處數字,在2013至14年度,政府在社區照顧服務方面的開支約為9.7億。若與政府今次提出預留8億元投放在院舍券上相比,將相等於政府一年在社區照顧服務上超過八成的開支。政府應該審慎思考,究竟這8億元應花在院舍券上,或是應投放在長期嚴重供不應求的社區照顧服務上呢?

事實上,如我們能在早期預防長者的退化,可大大減輕長者對院舍服務的需求。但因現時資源所限,普通個案不被列入「長期護理服務系統」,輕度缺損的長者(如患有輕度認知障礙症、身體有部份缺損但行動較佳的長者等),在社區內未能獲得復康和護理的長期支援,以致延誤支援的最佳時機。

如果政府能將投入於院舍券的8億元用以檢討家居及社區照顧服務,協助社區的體弱長者居家安老,考慮如何為他們提供更完善、更整合、更豐富的社區照顧服務、為護老者提供更完備的支援甚至津助、優化現時「長者社區照顧服務券試驗計劃」等,這才是給長者真正的選擇。而最核心的大前題是政府應在安老服務,尤其在長期護理服務上有更清晰、適切及長遠的規劃,包括檢討現時「改善買位」制度、改善公私營院舍服務人手及空間比例、改善現時對私院的監管制度、設立有效的個案管理機制及配套,以及認真檢討以綜援金支付私院院費的情況等,方能令長者得到妥善的晚年照顧。

延伸閱讀:
香港大學社會工作及社會行政學學系:
「長者院舍住宿照顧服務券」可行性研究立法會CB(2)820/14-15(01)號文件
http://www.legco.gov.hk/yr14-15/chinese/panels/ws/papers/ws20150209cb2-820-1-c.pdf

家居照顧員到家中幫長者做運動
家居照顧員到家中幫長者做運動

家居照顧員協助長者清潔家居
家居照顧員協助長者清潔家居

家居照顧員也會帶長者覆診
家居照顧員也會帶長者覆診

本頁完