Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2015-10-19 17:15
Chinese Version | 中文版
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 009
2015 September

Making the best use of Community Care Service Voucher
Delightful Care regaining dignity for elders

Hong Kong's population ages rapidly but the quality of private homes for the aged is worrying, the queuing time for subsidised homes is too long. If elders can receive timely service by making use of the Community Care Service Voucher Scheme (Voucher Scheme) before their physical health deteriorates, the pressure for hostels can be relieved and elders can age in place.

Our Delightful Care is one of the Social Welfare Department (SWD) recognised service units to experiment Voucher Scheme. The Voucher Scheme is attached to our Shun Lee Home for the Aged. Day care service will be provided so that elders can still enjoy ageing in place, receive appropriate services while relieve pressure of their carers.

Delightful Care offers tailor-make service

Mr. Tong, an 83 years old service user of our Delightful Care, lives with his wife. Mr. Tong would come to the center three times a week for rehabilitation training and pain relief service. A team of professionals consisting of physical therapist, occupational therapist, nurses and social workers will assess Mr. Tong's progress and design a suitable rehabilitation plan.

A year ago, Mr. Tong’s son shopped around for service according to the list from SWD. When he first came to the centre, he showed signs of degeneration in some of his limbs and cannot fully stretch his back. Mr. Tong said, "I have been to hospitals and received treatment but their service were minimal, only once a week and needed to wait two to three hours for less than an hour's training so the effect was not significant. However in our centre, we can offer more comprehensive training which greatly speeded up Mr. Tong's recovery" . Now it has been a year and he is able to stretch his back fully, walk with a steady pace and can walk faster. His son joked that his father becomes bigger in size. Besides our centre provides transportation for Mr. Tong make it more convenient to come to our centre.

Voucher Scheme relieves carers’ pressure

Another service user of our centre, Madam Wong, aged 84, lives with her daughter's family. Her daughter always worries that her mom would get lost if being left on her own. When she knew about our service, she took her mother to our centre. Our professional team assessed her condition then provides dementia service to Madam Wong hoping to slow down the degeneration. Madam Wong's daughter said with the day care service provided by our centre, she can go to work without worrying about her mother getting lost.

In our centre, Mr. Tong and Madam Wong and other service users would have nutritious, fresh meals and afternoon tea together. Mr. Tong said "going to the centre has become meaningful." Staff of the centre would hold various activities for service users to enrich their social life and enjoyment.

Under the Voucher Scheme, every eligible elder would receive voucher equal to $6,250 with which they could buy day care or home care service. Service components can be mixed or single. Services provided to Mr. Tong and Madam Wong are single day care mode, such as pain relief service, rehabilitation and cognitive training to improve their self-care ability, and to delay their admission to elderly homes when they could age in place.

Are all elders entitled to this service? Well, this is just an experimental stage, elders with medium grade impairment, waiting for subsidised homes and living in Eastern District, Kwun Tong, Wong Tai Sin, Yau Tsim Mong, Kowloon City, Shamshuipo, Shatin, Taipo, Tsuen Wan or Tuen Mun might be invited by SWD to experiment this service. But we welcome holders of Voucher Scheme or their carers to contact us so that we could provide timely service to elders while queuing for homes in order that they could lead a dignified and fruitful life.

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2016-01-20 11:44
前往目錄
前往清音目錄

 

009期2015年9月

善用社區照顧服務券 「悅和牽」助長者重拾生活尊嚴

香港人口老化的速度不斷增加,但私營院舍的質素卻令人擔心,長者輪候資助安老院舍的隊伍亦很長,事實上如果能在長者身體未嚴重退化前,善用社區照顧服務券,應有助長者「居家安老」,也能大大舒緩長者對「院舍」的需求。

本處的「悅和牽」為社會福利署長者社區照顧服務券試驗計劃之認可服務提供單位之一,由本處順利安老院為長者提供日間照護服務,目的是使長者能居家安老,享受有意義的生活及接受適切的護理服務,同時減低照顧者的壓力。

「悅和牽」為長者度身訂造所需服務

「悅和牽」的其中一位服務使用者是今年83歲的唐文彬先生。唐先生與太太同住,每週有三天來到「悅和牽」進行復康訓練及接受痛症舒緩服務。由物理治療師、職業治療師、護士和社工組成的專業團隊針對唐先生的情況作出評估,為他度身訂造個人照顧計劃,提供合適的訓練及協助。

一年前,唐先生的兒子按照社署提供的「服務概覽」名單,到多間提供服務的中心造訪了解,最後選擇了本處的「悅和牽」為爸爸提供服務。唐先生初到「悅和牽」時,部份肢體機能出現退化,連腰板也沒有辦法伸直。唐先生說:「我曾經在醫院及療養院做過物理治療訓練,但因它們能提供訓練之次數很少,往往一星期只有一次,每次要等候兩、三小時,但真正接受服務則少於一小時,故成效不算很顯著,但經過大半年在悅和牽不斷地訓練,現在身體狀況已大大好轉。」唐先生接受服務差不多已一年,現在他已可伸直腰板,走路的步速與穩定性也比以前大大提高,兒子亦笑說爸爸比以往「大隻咗」。為讓唐先生不用舟車勞頓,「悅和牽」更以專車接送唐先生到院舍接受服務。

社區照顧服務券有助減輕照顧者壓力

另一位接受「悅和牽」服務的黃玉嬋女士,今年已經84 歲,與女兒一家同住,女兒經常不放心將媽媽獨留在家,擔心她走失,當她知道可運用服務券後,就安排媽媽到「悅和牽」接受服務。「悅和牽」的專業團隊評估了黃女士的需要後,為她提供更多「認知障礙症治療」的服務,以防腦退化。黃女士的女兒表示現在媽媽在院舍託管,減輕了她不少的照顧壓力,同時,她亦可以「安心」上班。 平日唐先生、黃女士與安老院舍的其他院友一起享用適合長者食用、營養及新鮮的膳食和下午茶。唐先生說:「每一次到院舍,日子都覺得過得很快和很充實」,而院舍的社工也為唐先生、黃女士和其他社區照顧服務券服務對象舉辦多元化的活動,令他們能有豐富的社交生活及娛樂。

在「社區照顧服務券」計劃之下,每一位合資格並成功申請的長者會獲社署給予價值6,250 元的社區照顧服務券,讓他們按需要購買日間護理或上門家居照顧服務。服務組合包括了混合模式和單一模式,而「悅和牽」則為唐先生及黃女士提供單一日間照顧服務模式,其中包括:痛症舒緩服務、復康訓練和認知訓練等服務組合,使他們能提升自我照顧能力,長遠則做到安心地在社區、在家中居住,延遲進入安老院。

或有人會問是不是每一位長者均符合資格申請享用這麼好的服務呢? 其實「社區照顧服務券」仍屬試驗計劃。現時每一位經社署安老服務統一評估機制評估為身體機能達中度缺損、正在中央輪候冊上輪候資助住宿照顧服務,並居於東區、觀塘、黃大仙、油尖旺、九龍城、深水埗、沙田、大埔、荃灣或屯門的長者,均符合資格並有機會獲社署邀請,可嘗試使用服務。而我們也歡迎持有「服務券」的長者或其家人聯絡我們,讓長者在漫長輪候院舍宿位期間,仍能盡快獲得服務,度過一個有尊嚴和豐盛的晚年生活。

 


唐先生經過大半年的訓練後,走路的步速愈來愈快及穩定。


黃女士透過玩「認知治療」遊戲,減慢腦退化的速度。

本頁完