Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2015-12-23 19:38
Chinese Version | 中文版
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 010
2015 November

Speak positively to the elders
Demonstrate a society of respect and social inclusion

One of the 8 essential features of an age-friendly community according to the World health organisation is: respect and social inclusion, which elders could actively participate in community activities and are being treated with respect regardless of their health or social status. To promote this message, our Elderly Core Business conducted a research from August to September about what kind of expression would elders feel being respected or vice versa, through interviews and focus groups. 1,005 people aged between 16 and 90 were interviewed in our elderly and children & youth units. Five expressions that were considered respectful and 5 not were selected, they are:

Five expressions that elders considered respectful:

  • Good morning /how are you?
  • How's everything? Are you happy? How are you?
  • You are awesome!I shall seek your advice again!
  • Thanks a lot!
  • You deserve our respect!

Five expressions that elders considered not respectful:

  • You are always standing in the way.
  • You don't understand! You know nothing at all!
  • Shut up!
  • Even the hostels will shut you out!
  • It's none of your business, it's none of your concern!

According to some of the elders in the focus group, those five expressions that show respect are common expressions among themselves, they may look simple, but if they came from family members or the young ones, elders will be particularly happy about it and felt valued. When they were greeted with “Good morning, How are you or How are you getting on?” they felt that people took the initiation to care about them, they felt being treated politely. “Thank you very much, I shall seek your advice again." That even makes them feel important and reassured.

A heart-warming expression: Take care of yourself when going out.

It was found that about 80% of elders considered the expression "take care of yourself when going out" is very heart-warming,it reminds them to be careful not to fall. The younger generation may not comprehend the consequences of a fall after which health and life qualities are compromised, therefore, they did not consider such an expression carries any importance to the elders.

Regarding to those disrespectful expressions, elders felt they were more upset if they came from family members or those who were familiar. Among those expressions like “You don't understand! You know nothing at all! It's none of your business, it's none of your concern!”elders felt they were being misunderstood or belittled when they were trying to show care and concern.

The most heart-broken expression: You'll be shut out from elderly hostels!

In an outburst of emotion, expressions like:“You are standing in the way”,“You'll be shut out from elderly hostels”are most heart-breaking to the elders. They felt being neglected and hated, sometimes such emotion will be suppressed in order to maintain the relationship. However, suppression of emotion will in turn affect mental health.

For Hong Kong to become an age-friendly city, government policy and matching services are needed, however, we could begin with a simple greeting and appreciation. Let's demonstrate the culture of respect and social inclusion to elders by taking the initiation to speak positively to the elders around us and greet them pro-actively when we meet them.


elders distribute souvenirs printed with words of encouragement and respect to elders.

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2015-12-14 15:39
前往目錄
前往清音目錄

 

010期2015年11月

多向長者說正面說話 實踐「尊重和社會包容」

「尊重和社會包容」是世界衛生組織提出的「長者友善社區」八大範疇之一,為了解有甚麼說話讓長者感到尊重和不被尊重,本處長者核心業務於8至9月期間進行「愛.至『尊』:我們的長者友善社區」調查和聚焦小組,透過轄下長者及青少年服務等單位訪問了1,005位13至90歲人士,選出5句由後輩說出而長者會感到被尊重的說話,及5句由後輩說出而長者會感到不被尊重的說話,調查結果重點如下:

五大長者感到被尊重的說話,包括:「你好叻呀﹗下次再請教你﹗」、「早晨/你好!」、「好多謝你!」、「你近來好嗎?開心嗎?身體點嗎呀?」、「尊重你係應該!」。

不被尊重的說話,包括:「你阻住地球轉!」、「講你又唔明,你識咩呀?」、「你收聲啦!」「你咁樣連老人院都唔收你!」、「唔關你事,唔駛你理!」。

一些受訪長者在聚焦小組上說,以上5句尊重說話, 雖然看似簡單, 但往往只會在同輩中聽得到,倘若這些話是由後輩及家人自發地說出,他們會覺得更窩心和被尊重。外出時,聽見「早晨/ 你好!」,「你近來好嗎?」,他們感覺有人會主動關心自己,被禮貌地對待。一句「好多謝你!」,「下次再請教你!」令他們更加覺得被重視和肯定。

講「出入要小心?喎!」長者感貼心

調查亦發現八成長者認為「出入要小心啲喎!」是一句很貼心的說話,能溫馨提醒他們出入要格外留神,小心跌倒。不過年青一輩未必了解長者跌倒後,他們的健康和生活質素會受到很大影響甚至改變,故不認為「出入要小心啲喎!」這句話對長者有關愛及尊重的意義。

至於「不被尊重的說話」,長者普遍認為若由家人或很熟悉的人說出這些話,「唔開心」的感覺會更強烈、更難受。當中,「講你又唔明,你識咩呀?」、「唔關你事,唔駛你理!」這兩句話,長者覺得自己只是想關心對方,卻被對方誤解甚至被貶低。

「你咁樣連老人院都唔收你!」最傷老人心

因發洩情緒而衝口向長者說出「你阻住地球轉!」,「你咁樣連老人院都唔收你!」等話,就算說者無心傷害長者,但長者聽後卻會感到自己「被嫌棄」和「討人厭」,更有機會因怕破壞雙方的關係而不敢即時表達「唔開心」的感覺,反而把不快長期地抑壓在心中,影響心理健康。

香港要成為一個長者友善城市,不但要從政策、服務配套方面入手,市民大眾亦可以從簡單問候及欣賞的說話開始,先行第一步與身邊長者多說正面說話,甚至主動打個招呼,一起實踐對長者「尊重和社會包容」的文化。


長者到社區派發印有鼓勵愛長者、尊重長者說話的紀念品

本頁完