Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2016-02-22 16:35
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 011
2016 January

From waitress to the first Nepalese social worker in Hong Kong

We seldom meet ethnic minorities in our daily life, the most likely occasion will be waiters in high end western restaurants, and our protagonist today, Miss Sita Limbu (Sita) had been employed in different settings, like being a waitress in a restaurant in Discovery Bay, however, as soon as she came into contact with social service, she found her lifetime career.

Sita is a programme worker in our Hong Kong Jockey Club Community Project Grant: Integrated Service Centre for Local South Asians (ISSA), she mainly helps to carry out Centre’s activities. Sita has been helping with promoting our projects for South Asians. Last year Sita received the 10 year long service award. Recently she completed the higher diploma of social work in Caritas Institute of Higher Education and became the first Nepalese social worker in Hong Kong.

Perseverance despite of hardships

In order to become a social worker, Sita determined to take up social work course. Born in Hong Kong and a Gurkha father, Sita grew up and received her education in Shek Kong Barracks, therefore, education system in Hong Kong was very remote to her and social work course meant starting all over.

She applied for social work degree course with the University of Hong Kong in 2009, then associate degree course with City University and Hong Kong Polytechnic University in 2010 and 2011. Despite these unsuccessful attempts, they only strengthened Sita’s determination to become a social worker, eventually she was admitted to the higher diploma of social work in Caritas Institute of Higher Education in 2012. However, this was just the beginning of the hardship as the curriculum was taught in Chinese which Sita does not know at all.

Ever since Sita became a social work student, she had been working during day time, and on top of this, she had to study, do homework and placement as well. Apart from insufficient sleep and rest, she still had to face the language barrier, “I had to keep my eyes open even though I did not understand what the lecturer was talking about”. Whole day tutorials were other difficult times for her as she could only speak English, classmates were unwilling to partner with her which made her very upset. In the face of all the difficulties, Sita completed the course with her mighty effort and assistance from classmates.

Social work opens another window

In fact, the salary Sita received was no better than being a waitress. However, she enjoyed very much the satisfaction from helping others. After completion of the social work course, she found the scope of social work was more extensive than merely voluntary work or rescue work as most of the Nepalese have thought. There are many professional knowledge involved, in particular, she likes counselling work very much, the demand for counselling service among Nepalese and South Asians was high, however due to language barrier, they might not receive timely support.

Four tough years of social work course widened Sita’s perspective and enhanced her problem solving skills. “Generally South Asians women lack knowledge in raising their children, they only scold or batter them when their children disobey or have poor academic results. Sometimes, they would batter their children with umbrella which made an negative impact on children’s body and mind. Then I would apply my knowledge to tell them they are actually abusing their children, I could use the skills I learnt to help my clients more effectively.”

After completing the higher diploma course, Sita is planning to further her studies to obtain a master degree in order to become a more outstanding social worker to offer counselling service to her clients.

 

 

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2016-02-05 18:32
前往目錄
前往清音目錄

 

011期2016年1月

從餐廳女侍應到成為香港第一位尼泊爾籍女社工

一般人未必常有機會接觸少數族裔社群,除了有時候在社區看到他們的身影,最常接觸的南亞裔人士,就是在高級西餐廳裡的侍應生,而今天的主角- Sita Limbu(下稱Sita)也曾做過不同的工作,包括在愉景灣的一家餐廳做過3年侍應生,可是當她接觸到社會服務工作後,她覺得她找到了一生的事業。

Sita現時是本處香港賽馬會社區資助計劃—南天網絡的程序工作員,主要的工作是推行中心的活動。她過去曾協助推展不少本處南亞裔事工,2007年獲本處的卓越員工獎,去年取得十年長期服務獎,最近更成功在明愛專上學院修畢四年夜間(兼讀)高級社工文憑畢業,成為香港第一位尼泊爾籍的女社工。

社工路困難重重仍努力不懈

Sita為了令自己能踏上社工路,下了很大的決心修讀社會工作課程,她雖然是在香港土生土長,但因父親是啹喀兵,自小在石崗軍營生活及接受教育,所以她對香港的學制很陌生,修讀社工課程對她來說是從新開始。

她從2009年開始申請香港大學的學士課程,2010年和2011年則申請香港城巿大學、香港理工大學等多間大學的副學士課程,雖然多次未獲取錄,不過這並沒有打擊她要成為社工的決心。第一年不行,第二年繼續申請,一直堅持着這個理想,直至2012年,明愛專上學院終於取錄她讀社會工作高級文憑課程,不過,這只是困難的開始,因為課程是以中文授課,而Sita是完全不懂中文的。

自成功成為社工學生後,Sita不但要日間工作,每週也有好幾天要用來上課、做功課,還要實習。每天除了嚴重缺乏休息和睡眠,還需要面對言語障礙:「明明聽不懂講師在講甚麼,但仍然要睜着眼晴不能睡覺」,全日的導修課對她來說更是難熬,因為自已只會說英文,沒有同學願意跟她同組,令她覺得很難受。雖然過程中的辛苦難以言道,但是最後Sita還是憑着努力及同學們的協助下,一一克服困難成功畢業了!

社會工作為自己開了一扇窗

事實上,Sita也坦承當初在社會服務界做活動工作員的薪水,並不高於餐廳,可是她卻很享受助人當中的樂趣及滿足感,而修讀了社會工作課程以後,她更發現原來社會工作的範圍是如此地廣闊,並非許多尼泊爾人以為社工就只是義務的社會工作、或者救援工作等,原來當中有很多的專業知識,她更因此而愛上了輔導工作,她覺得無論是尼泊爾人或是南亞裔社群對此都有很大的需要。可是,他們往往因為語言障礙,就算懂得到中心求助,也未必能得到最適切的支援。

四年艱苦的社會工作課程亦令Sita的眼界大開,大大增加了她解決問題的能力。「南亞裔婦女一般不大會管教子女的方法,亦不清楚香港的法律,所以現在我可以用學到的專業知識來教導他們香港的情況及管教子女的方法。

社會工作高級文憑畢業後,Sita並沒有因此而停下來,她說她打算繼續修讀學士課程,希望自己能成為一位更出色的社工,未來可為服務對象提供輔導服務。

 

 

本頁完