Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2016-02-22 16:38
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 011
2016 January

In search of real happiness out of an unknown future

So good, aged 16 and Ah Lok, aged 17, both quitted school before completing secondary school. They have always been unsure of the future, wanting to earn a living but without any direction or life goals. They just focus on the present but lacking any hope for their future.

They quitted school at the age of 12 or 13, they loitered throughout the night with friends in parks, or in the video games centres. Sometimes, their families needed to call the police to find them. At first they enjoyed this kind of lifestyle, however, they got tired of this and started to feel that they needed directions for life until they met social workers who encouraged them to participate in the project “In search of real happiness out of an unknown future” organised by our Yuen Long Youth Outreaching Team (YLYOT) through which they changed their style of living and tried new experiences.

Through the project, So good and Ah Lok participated their first time various activities such as bubble football games, indoor archery, skate boarding, abseiling and wild camping, adventurous rock climbing. Despite the hardship and difficulties in these activities, they had a lot of support and encouragement which revealed to them that they were not facing the difficulties alone. They were presented a new perspective to face challenges of life. In other activities, they made snacks, chatted and played with children of our small group homes. These experiences made good impression on both children and themselves. They realised that happiness is as simple as reaching out with their hearts.

Apart from So good and Ah Lok, there were other service users participated in different activities. One of the participants who had quitted school for three years since secondary three, he described himself as “trash” when our social worker first contacted him and always said “I can’t do that, I just can’t.” Nevertheless, after participating in the project, he eventually gathered his experiences and built up self-confidence. He was the master of ceremony at the closing ceremony of the project, and his dream was to become a social worker. Recently he has been re-admitted to school and had a score of 100 in Mathematics examination. This further boosted his motivation for further studies to realise his dreams.

There were other participants who had been involved in drug trafficking, theft, and fighting. Through detail interview by social workers, they reflected on what they were after, the meaning of real happiness and what was important to them. When they started to think deeply and chose all over again, they began to realise that family members are more important than money. Some of them even tried to look for jobs even though they lacked experience. Different participants ventured into their new page to look for real happiness.

Just like the responsible social workers said, these participants face defeating experiences in life, people have biased opinions on them judging by their outlook: coloured hair, unfavourable habits such as smoking and foul languages. Their deeper needs like a sense of recognition and acceptance were always neglected, they then lost their motivation ended up being rejected and they in turn quitted school or work. However, when they felt being accepted and had friends with positive attitude, they could simply let go of themselves and change their unfavourable lifestyle and habits, and take a step forward to satisfy their needs.

In order to continue and strengthen these positive experiences, and away from unfavourable influences, our YLYOT will continue their mutual support, and through volunteer work, to strengthen their bond with the community in order they could get the positive energy from community and break away from the vicious circle of being off-track and poverty.

 

 


Wild camp:Canoeing and scuba diving



Volunteering in small group homes

 

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2016-02-12 11:38
前往目錄
前往清音目錄

 

011期2016年1月

看不見的明天 尋找「真開心」

今年分別是16、17歲的So good和阿樂初中未畢業便輟學,一直不知道自己的未來,想賺錢卻沒有方向,也找不到人生的目標,常常抱着一種無法捕捉明天,只顧眼前的態度面對人生。

當12、3歲輟學時,他們經常流連在外,通宵達旦地在公園跟朋友「吹水」,到「機舗」打機,甚至要驚動家人報警來尋找他們,但一樣不怕,繼續出來「蒲」。起初,他們很享受這種生活,可是這樣的日子維持了幾年後,開始玩厭了,慨嘆自己的人生沒有方向,直至認識了社工,並鼓勵他們參與元朗區青少年外展工作隊(下稱:「元朗外展隊」)特別推展的「我要真開心:元朗達人」計劃,改變生活節奏,嘗試了許多他們未試過的體驗。

在專責社工的支援下,So good和阿樂在計劃中嘗試了泡泡足球、室內射箭、滑水快艇、遊繩挑戰和野外露營、攀石歷奇等活動,這還是他們第一次參加同類活動,雖然在部分活動的過程中需要攀山涉水,有時很辛苦,但因這種辛苦並不是他們獨自面對,而是身邊同時有很多人的支持和鼓勵,讓他們可以以一個全新角度去面對人生挑戰。他們更為住在兒童之家的小朋友製作美食,與他們聊天和玩遊戲,這些經驗令他們與小朋友都留下了美好的回憶,令他們發現原來開心其實可以很簡單,只要用心付出就得到不一樣的體驗。

除了So good和阿樂外,還有其他外展隊青年學員參加了不同類型的活動。其中一位學員自中三輟學後待業待學已達三年,最初社工接觸他時,他只會形容自己是「廢青」,口裡常常說「我都唔得,做唔到」。但透過參加計劃,他慢慢累積正面的經驗建立信心,在計劃的閉幕禮中擔當司儀,更在活動中找到自己想成為社工的夢想,最近他已成功獲得學校取錄重新上學,並在數學考試取得100分的鼓舞成績,這令他更有動力和決心繼續升學,實踐理想。

另外亦有學員過去曾經販毒、偷竊、打架,藉著與社工細談自己的過去和人生中所面對的挫敗,他們反思到自己追求的是甚麼,真正的開心是甚麼,自己真正重視的是甚麼。當重新細想和作出選擇,他們開始發現原來家人比金錢更重要。有些學員也開始放低「零工作經驗」的包袱,膽戰心驚參與工作體驗,甚至有的已開始工作。不同的學員也在他們自己的道路上展開新的一頁,尋找屬於自己的「真開心」。

正如負責的社工所說,這些年青人在日常生活中面對很多挫敗的經驗,加上常常只被看見表面的行為表現,如染頭髮、吸煙及講粗口等不良的行為習慣,卻忽略他們深層的需要,如希望被認同和接納。他們漸漸感到「無癮」,結果只能接受被大社會所排拒,拒絕上學或工作。可是當他們能處於一個有正面朋友和充滿接納的活動環境時,他們往往可以釋放簡單的自己,嘗試改變過去一些不良的生活型態和習慣,踏出新的一步,追求滿足自己的真正需要。

為了延續和鞏固這些學員的正面經驗,令他們能脫離負面的影響,元朗外展隊將會推動他們繼續互相支持,並透過義工服務,增強他們與社區的聯繫,讓他們能逐步從社區中吸取正能量,長遠協助他們脫離越軌及貧窮的惡性循環。

「我要真開心:元朗達人」計劃
本處元朗區青少年外展工作隊獲葉志成慈善基金有限公司資助推展「我要真開心:元朗達人」計劃,藉一系列的興趣活動和新事物學習,提升學員的前進動機,再配合自我認識、義工訓練等活動,推動參加者接觸及服務社區有需要人士,增加他們與社區的連繫,進一步灌注發展正面自我的動力,以脫離越軌和貧窮的循環(低學歷、吸毒及進出監獄)。」

 

 

本頁完