Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2016-02-22 16:08
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 011
2016 January

Fight for real retirement protection
Deny fake consultation

Professor Wong Hung, Associate professor, Department of Social Work, Chinese University of Hong Kong

A joint declaration was signed by 180 scholars on universal pension strongly demanded the Commission on Poverty to include the universal pension scheme proposed by scholars so that the general public will have an all rounded understanding on retirement protection and provide them with real choices. However, the Commission on Poverty launched “Retirement Protection Forging Ahead” on 22 December 2015 without including the scholars’ scheme but instead scaring the public with huge expenditure and disguised the concept of “contribution” as “taxation” and avoided the funding arrangement put forward by various proposals. The consultation paper has a strong pre-set standpoint, it does not provide a comprehensive and balanced stance which revealed that the government is putting on a show and has the least intention for a real discussion. Therefore, the scholars who signed the joint declaration decided not to participate in this sham consultation and refused to endorse it.

Hong Kong needs a system to secure the living of elders that benefits all. It is similar to public hospitals and education system. Scholars suggested setting up a “Universal pension scheme” aiming at a protection for basic living standards so that every elder would receive a monthly basic pension for a worry-free life. Its main points are as below:

  1. Universality: A non vetting system for those aged 65 or above. This is to safeguard all citizens' living standards and dignity in times of ageing. For those who considered it giving out money to the rich, under the new scheme, it could use the same criteria for Old Age Allowance where eligible elders apply for the scheme themselves.
  2. Basic protection: A monthly allowance of $3,500 based on the calculation in 2016, and be adjusted according to inflation.
  3. Effective immediately and start savings now: Begin savings in 2016 and giving pension to eligible elders immediately. The earlier this scheme is implemented, the more effective the collective savings plan. This is not the “pay as you go” scheme in the west but the “partially pre-funded” of the World Bank, making use of this golden opportunity of incomplete ageing population, to prepare for the future more ageing population.
  4. Tripartite contribution: To contribute money from existing social security expenditure (CSSA standard rates for elderly person aged 6o or above, Old Age Allowance and Old Age Living Allowance) according the growth rate of old age population. The Mandatory Provident Fund (MPF) contributions of both parties are reduced to 2.5% but at the same time contribute 2.5% to the fund. Balances in the existing MPF account remains as it is without using the new scheme. This tripartite contribution does not add extra burden to labour, employers and government but instead, it is a better utilisation of MPF and government expenditure for elderly living.
  5. Responsibility of government: Since the government delayed the implementation, compensation for this scheme should be accumulated from 2013, therefore, the government should put $100 billion into the fund as seed money.
  6. Corporate responsibility: Corporations should bear a bigger share in taking care of retired elders. Large corporations with annual profits of at least HK$10 million contribute through an additional profit tax of 1.9%. Elders have been working their whole life for the prosperity of Hong Kong and corporates benefit the most out of it, therefore they should bear more responsibility.

According to the projection of the scholars’ scheme, the expenditure in 2016 is $49.5 billion while the income will be $170.9 billion with a surplus of $121.3 billion. By 2064, there will still be $168.2 billion in the fund.

We appeal to you not to be misled and intimidated by the fake consultation of the government but to study the scholars scheme carefully, if you think it is worthy of support, please speak out and join our effort to proclaim to the government to carry out its commitment for a universal pension scheme.

Prof. Wong
Biography of Professor Wong Hung
Professor Wong Hung is an associate professor of the Department of Social Work of Chinese University of Hong Kong. He graduated from the Department of Social Work of the Chinese University and had his master degree on sociology of labour and PhD in University of Warwick. He has a special concern on social problems such as labour, social security and poverty. He has also conducted researches on labour and marginal groups such as street sleepers, unemployed youth and people living in old districts.

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2016-02-05 18:31
前往目錄

 

011期2016年1月

力爭真退保 拒絕假諮詢

180名學者於2015年11月17日發表了「全民養老金」學者方案方聯署聲明,強烈要求扶貧委員將「全民養老金」學者方案納入退休保障諮詢文件,讓市民能對不同的退休保障方案有全面的認識以及能有真正的選擇。然而,扶貧委員會最終於12月22日發表了「退休保障共建前路」諮詢文件,文件並沒有將學者方案納入諮詢範疇之內,反而以龐大的開支恐嚇市民,並偷換概念將全民退休保障方案的「供款」變成是「徵稅」,而避談不同方案的籌資安排。文件有強烈的預設立場,並非為市民提供一份詳實及平衡不同觀點的文件,顯示政府無意真正引領市民進行真正的討論,只作門面的假意諮詢。所以參與聯署的學者們決定不參加政府主辦的諮詢活動,拒絕為政府的假諮詢背書。

香港需要一個「惠及全民」的長者生活保障制度。這正如香港有「惠及全民」的公立醫療制度以及公立教育制度一樣,學者建議成立「全民養老金」,旨在為香港所有的長者提供基本的生活保障,令長者能每月獲取基本的養老金,使其生活無後顧之憂。其要點如下:

  1. 全民性:所有年滿65歲及以上的香港長者,無須資產及入息審查,均合資格領取。計劃可「惠及全民」,以體現長者得到基本的生活保障是每位香港長者的基本權利。對於有人提出全民性計劃是向富人派錢的說法,新計劃可參考現行領取高齡津貼的做法,合資格的長者須主動提出申請。
  2. 基本保障:以2016年計,每月領取的金額為$3,500,期後金額按通脹調整。
  3. 即時生效及開始儲蓄:由2016年開始供款,並即時向合資格長者發放全民養老金。愈早實行有關政策,愈能發揮這計劃的集體儲蓄功能。這計劃不是西方社會所通行的「隨收隨支」(Pay As You Go) 計劃,而是世界銀行所支持的「部份預籌款項」(Partially Pre-funded) 計劃。利用人口未完全老化的黃金機會,實行籌資以應付未來人口更老化階段的資金需要。
  4. 三方供款:政府將現行社會保障開支(包括長者綜援標準金額、高齡津貼及長者生活津貼),按老人人口增長率注入計劃。勞資雙方現行每月的強積金供款各減為2.5%,同時為新計劃各供款2.5%。現行強積金戶口中的結餘保留在個人戶口無須注入新計劃。這三方供款安排及比率,並不會額外增加勞、資、官三方的供款壓力。只是更好運用現時勞資雙方在強積金的供款以及政府在社會保障有關老人生活保障的開支。
  5. 政府責任:由於政府延誤計劃實施日期,應補償自2013年至今的累計基金,所以應要在2016年為計劃注入1,000億元的種子基金。
  6. 大企業責任:大企業應對現行經已退休的長者有更大的承擔,盈利超過1,000萬的企業每年繳納的利得稅應額外增加1.9%以注入計劃。現時的長者長期為香港的繁榮作出貢獻,而當中最大的得益者為現時香港的大企業,大企業較中小企應承擔更大支付全民養老金的企業社會責任。

按學者方案的推算在2016年全民養老金的支出為495億元,收入為1709億元,首年結餘為1213億元,至2064年全民養老金的結餘仍有1682億不會出現所謂爆煲的情況。我們呼籲市民要不被政府諮詢文件所誤導及恐嚇,應要細緻認識全民養老金的民間方案,若認為值得支持, 要大聲發聲及參與行動,向政府宣示民間的共識和力量。要求本屆政府在任期內承諾推行全民養老金。

 

黃洪教授
黃洪教授
黃洪博士現任中文大學社會工作學系副教授,他於香港中文大學社會工作學系本科畢業,並於英國華威大學修讀勞工社會學碩士及社會學博士。他多年來特別關心勞工、社會保障及貧窮等社會問題,亦曾就邊緣勞工、露宿者、失業青年及市民舊區居民等社群進行研究。

聯席方案

本頁完