Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2016-04-08 10:41
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 012
2016 March

Children come first
Divorced parents have to take up the responsibilities
Concern on Draft Children Proceedings (Parental Responsibility) Bill

In 2005, the Law Reform Commission (LRC) released its report on Child Custody and Access, the focus of which was to introduce parental responsibility model to replace the existing custody and access orders. There was public consultation on the Report from 2011 to 2012 on implementing the recommendation by legislation. To take a step further, the government launched a public consultation from November 2015 to March 2016 on Draft Children Proceedings (Parental Responsibility) Bill to implement the Report’s recommendations.

Change in concept of raising children and its model

The basics of "parental responsibility" are "children should come first" and "in their best interests", it highlights the connection between children and parents, and to stress on the continuity of parental responsibility instead of parents’ rights and authorities. We appreciate that this is an ideal concept of raising children and is important for their growth. Divorced parents should continue to take up their responsibilities and not to struggle for their personal interests. However, such a paradigm shift requires comprehensive and long-term planning such as policy, service planning, public education, legislation and other measures, etc.

Children's rights, opinions and needs

Previous consultations centered on parents' rights and responsibilities but children's opinions and needs are neglected. This Draft Bill reflects its focus on legal proceedings instead of taking its stance from children’s perspective while The Care of Children Act 2004 in New Zealand, The Children and Adoption Act 2006 in England and Wales focused on the implementation of parental responsibility. Apart from that, even though this Draft Bill suggested allowing children to voice their opinions and have lawyers to represent them, yet these only apply to court cases.

When we were collecting children's opinions from divorced families, they expressed lacking in opportunities to voice their concerns and they suffered a lot. Children think that they can be represented by someone who can understand them and are trustworthy (note 1); therefore, this is disputable whether lawyers are the appropriate person to represent children. To address to the needs of children, professional support service should be provided when parents start getting divorce. We suggest setting up children support team to provide suitable professional service to these children to handle their emotions, to express their needs and participate in devising parental coordination plan, such as Australia's Child Inclusive Practice and another similar service model in Canada.

Furthermore, the Draft Bill does not review the alimony arrangement, which do not have any monitoring or mechanism to impose the paying of alimony. These, however, have been the pleas of many single families.

Government should bear its responsibility Service provision should be comprehensive and with planning

The lack of an overall comprehensive planning of the government is the reason behind the unmet need of demands. A reform by legislation might put greater pressure on divorced families. Quoting experiences from England, Wales and Australia, court cases up surged after the reform, some output assessment could not alter how parents think, the legal proceedings are abused by trouble-making parents affecting the well being of their children. In view of these, the government should consider well planned services like professional support teams for divorced families and mandatory parenting coordinating course or mediation service.

However, there are no comprehensive or resources for such planning, those support service mentioned in the Draft Bill are just bits and pieces and lacking long-term planning. There are only some social service funding for time-limited and some mediation and parenting coordination service. As early as in 2012, Hong Kong Council of Social Service and the field proposed a one-stop children-oriented on professional parenting coordination service (such as: children counselling, parenting coordination and counselling, public education, professional training and research etc). A proposal was drafted for the consideration of Social Welfare Department. It is hoped that the government could take up its role to provide comprehensive service and resources, however there was no progress. In addition, public policies such as housing, welfare, legal service should also tie in for consideration.

It is acknowledged that parental responsibility was the right direction, but without comprehensive support services, policies and other measures, in accordance with the legislation of the proceedings might cause more harm than good to divorced families.

Children’s thoughts and experiences

Boy 15 years old
Father brought me to the court when I was F1, it was by then that I knew they were getting a divorce. I have always thought what was the cause of their divorce. I didn't show my feelings … but deep down, it has an impact on me, I don't want to trust any relatives, I don't want to see anybody.
They always quarrel over the phone, they never discuss face to face, I am helpless. There are many things that concern me, but nobody asked me about it, adults would never listen to children.
Don't let children become megaphones … I need to ask father for living allowance as if I owed him, I feel ashamed of it.
We hope the government could consider from the perspective of children as we are directly affected by divorce, we are the first persons to be affected, and we could provide suggestions or alternatives. In the early stage of divorce, children should receive counselling service as soon as possible. When I entered secondary school, I no longer want to mention this unhappy and shameful family issue to anybody.
Girl 10 years old
I would like to see mother more, but my father disapproves of it, …and I don't want him to be unhappy so I don't tell him.
Girl 10 years old
It's better I can see them both, however, I would not mention about father in front of mother. They use "we chat" to communicate since they quarrel whenever they meet, it's better for them to avoid seeing one another. I once asked if we could dine together, they both agreed and I felt very happy after dining together.

(Note 1: our Family and Community Core Business are collecting children’s opinions to be submitted to the government.)

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2016-04-08 10:11
前往目錄

 

012期2016年3月

以兒童為本,促進離異父母承擔責任
對《子女法律程序(父母責任)條例草案的》的關注

香港法律改革委員會(法改會)於2005年就「子女管養權及探視權」發表了報告書,重點建議把「父母責任模式」引入香港的家事法,取代舊有的「管養權」及「探視權」政府於2011-2012年曾就報告書的建議諮詢公眾「應否以立法形式推行共同父母責任模式」現在政府進一步就落實有關建議而擬備了《子女法律程序(父母責任)條例草案》 下( 稱《條例草案》),並於2015年11月至2016年3月展開公眾諮詢。

教養理念及模式的轉變

「父母責任模式」以「兒童為本」及「子女最佳利益」為基本考慮,重視子女與父母聯繫的權利,強調持續的父母責任,而非父母的權利和權力。本處認同這是理想的教養概念,對孩子成長十分重要。離異的父母應繼續承擔責任而非爭奪個人的權利。然而,要推動這轉變必須有更整全及長遠的考慮,包括政策、服務規劃、公眾教育、立法及行政措施等。

孩子的權利、聲音和需要

過去的諮詢常集中討論父母權利和責任而忽略了孩子的聲音和權利,是次《條例草案》的名稱正正反映這思維只集中在法律程序而非兒童角度。反觀新西蘭透過《2004年照顧兒童法令》、英格蘭及威爾斯透過《2006年兒童及領養法令》推行父母責任模式。此外,雖然《條例草案》建議制訂機制讓子女表達意見及可有獨立律師代表,但有關安排只適用於有爭議及法院處理的個案。

本處最近收集離異家庭子女的心聲時,發現不少孩子沒有機會表達個人的關注,在父母的紛爭中承受莫大苦楚。孩子認為能代表自己的是明白自己及可信任的人(註1),故單以律師代表兒童的做法仍需商榷。為真正關顧孩子的需要,必須從父母開始辦理離婚便提供專業支援服務。本處建議設立兒童顧問團隊,由合適的專業人士協助孩子處理情緒、表達關注及參與制訂親職協調計劃,如澳洲已有相關的兒童支援服務(Child Inclusive Practice)加拿大亦引入以兒童為中心的新模式。

再者,是次《條例草案》並沒有檢視直接影響兒童照顧的贍養費安排,如何以兒童為中心地設立中央監察及執行支付贍養費的機制實在十分重要,亦是單親家庭多年的訴求。

政府必須有承擔,服務必須作整全的規劃

雖然「父母責任」是理想的模式,但為何十多年來香港仍未有這片土壤推行呢?歸根是政府沒有整全的規劃。本處認為單以立法形式推動改革,會引致離異家庭承受更大的困擾。參考英格蘭、威爾斯和澳洲等的經驗,法律改革後,法院爭議數目增加,一些成效評估發現未能改變父母的思維,法律程序更被存心製造麻煩的父母濫用,影響子女的福祉。面對這些沉痛的經驗,這些國家需發展更「整全及一系列」的服務配套,如「專門支援離異家庭的服務」及「強制親職協調課程或調解服務」等。這都是香港政府應及早參照的做法。

然而,香港現時並沒有整體服務及資源的規劃,《條例草案》內提及的支援措施零散分割且欠長遠計劃。現在亦只依賴社福界申請基金資助作有限期及少量人力的調解服務或親職協調服務。社會服務聯會與業界早於2012年已建議開展「一站式兒童為本」的「專門親職協調服務」(包括:兒童輔導、親職協調及輔導、公眾教育、專業培訓及研究等),更進一步擬訂計劃書供社會福利署參考,期望政府能承擔整全的服務及資源規劃,唯多年未有進展。此外,政府的公共政策和措施如房屋、福利、法律支援等,亦必須一併作出配合。

縱然「父母責任模式」值得認同,但若沒有整全的服務配套、政策和措施與立法協同進行,恐怕只會為離異家庭帶來更多困難和危機。

孩子的經驗和心聲:

男(15歲)
升小一時,父帶我到法庭,才知父母離婚。我一直想到底父母發生什麼事要離婚,我表面上沒什麼⋯但我知道這一直影響著我,使我不易相信親人,不想與人接觸。

父母經常在電話中吵鬧,從沒有面對面討論,我只感無奈。很多事與我有關,卻沒人叫我參與,大人往往會輕視小孩的想法⋯

不要令兒童成為傳聲筒⋯我要開口向父追生活費,自己好似欠債一樣,感到羞恥。

希望政府多從兒童角度考慮,因父母離婚對兒童有很多直接影響,我們是第一身,會有很多意見及解決方法。離婚初期,兒童應盡早得到輔導,當我到了中學階段,已不想再向人說這些不開心及羞愧的家事。
女(10歲)
其實想見媽媽多些,但爸爸不准⋯.我怕爸爸不開心,所以不講。
女(10歲)
都好,兩個都可以見;不過,不可以在媽媽面前提爸爸。他們用WeChat 聯絡,因一見面會鬧交,不見面好些。有一次我問可以一起吃飯嗎?他們都同意,吃過後我好開心。

註(1):本處的家庭及社區核心業務正收集兒童的意見及代他們呈交政府

 

本頁完