Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2016-06-22 15:17
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 013
2016 May

Perplexing employees!
Positive workplace boosts performance and enthusiasm

A press conference was held on 1 May, the Labour Day by our Employee Development Service/ Four Dimensions Consulting Limited to announce the findings of most common nature of problem of their 3000 cases during the period from April 2015 to March 2016. The most common category among these cases was workplace disturbance (28.1% of the total cases to request for assistance), among them it includes "supervisor-supervisee relationship" "team relationship" "job change" etc, whereas "family/parenting/marital problem" ranked the second (19%); "emotional/mental health issue" (17.4%), "work life information" (16%) and "interpersonal relationship" (5%) ranked the third, fourth and fifth respectively.

Furthermore, we also announced the findings of the most needed assistance at managerial level during the same period on participating corporations seeking for management consultation. "Management of employees' emotional and mental health" (24.3%) was the most needed, "handling employees issues" (13.8%) came second, "crisis/critical incidents" (12.5%), "handling employees attempting to commit suicide/ employees commit suicide/attempting to hurt other people" (8.5%) and "understanding community resources" (7.2%).

The statistics on service demand reflects that employees are constantly frustrated by the problems encountered in workplace especially on relationship with the supervisor and colleagues and job change. On the other hand, managerial staff is often helpless when they face staff with emotional and mental health issues and other staff handling problems, they would then turn to professionals for assistance.

Working families play an important role, our cases revealed that apart from work, they face family/parenting/marital, emotional/mental health issues. All these affect their performance at work and undermine productivity.

Employers should provide a positive workplace for their employees to raise their psychological conditions and positive energy. Strategies of promoting positive workplace include promoting positive measures such as providing Employee Assistance programme, family friendly measures, enabling employees to maintain work-life balance and other crisis management measures.

Our Employee Assistance Programme offers the following services, such as:

  • Personal consultation and Counselling service
  • Work life information
  • Work life guidance
  • Promotion of healthy life style activities
  • Employee Development and training activities
  • Crisis Incident Support Service

Please visit our website for details of our service: http://www.hkcs.org/service/eds.html

 

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2016-06-10 15:27
前往目錄
前往清音目錄

 

013期2016年5月

在職人士煩惱多,正向工作間
增強工作表現及投入感

本處僱員發展服務/富達盟信顧問有限公司於五一勞動節舉行記者招待會,公佈本港機構在過去一年(2015年4月至2016年3月)參與本處「僱員支援計劃」 (Employee Assistance Programme)的3,000個求助個案中, 發現最多員工求助個案的類別為「工作困擾」(佔年度求助個案總數的28.1%),當中包括「上司下屬關係」、「團隊關係」、「工作轉變」等;其次是「家庭/親職/婚姻問題」(19%);「情緒/精神健康問題」(17.4%)、「工作生活資訊」(16%)及「人際關係問題」(5%),分別佔第三、第四及第五位。

此外, 我們亦公佈去年同期「僱員支援計劃」參與機構管理層員工尋求管理諮詢的情況。當中發現管理層員工最需要尋求諮詢個案性質為「處理員工情緒及精神健康」(24.3%) ; 其次為「處理員工管理問題」(13.8%);「危機/突發事故」(12.5%);「處理員工企圖自殺/自殺/傷害他人」(8.5%),以及「了解社區資源」(7.2%)。

服務統計數字反映在職人士持續受「工作間的問題」困擾,特別「在職場中與上司及同事的關係」及「工作轉變」最影響他們的身心情況。另一方面,管理層員工當遇到「員工情緒及精神健康問題」和「處理員工管理問題」亦最容易感到束手無策,需要向專業人士尋求協助及提供意見。

由於在職人士在家庭亦擔當主要的角色,求助個案數字亦反映除工作以外,他們均飽受「家庭/親職/婚姻」、「情緒/精神健康」等問題困擾。這些問題均會影響員工工作表現,為公司整體生產力帶來負面影響。

本處建議僱主需要為員工提供一個正向工作間,提升員工心理質素及正能量。推行正向工作間的策略,包括實施正向措施,如為員工提供「僱員支援計劃」、實施家庭友善措施、為僱員制訂合適的工作生活平衡政策,以及制定危機管理及溝通方案等。

關於「僱員支援計劃」服務本處「僱員支援計劃」提供的主要服務範疇包括:

  • 個人諮詢及輔導服務
  • 工作生活資訊
  • 工作生活指導
  • 身心健康推廣活動
  • 員工發展及培訓活動
  • 危機/突發事故支援服務
如欲了解服務詳情,請瀏覽http://www.hkcs.org/service/eds.html。

 

本頁完