Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2016-06-22 16:44
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 013
2016 May

Personal hope of youth and their social aspiration

The creation of the movie "Ten Years" has aroused tremendous resonance in just a couple of months, it takes everyone by surprise in being awarded the best film in Hong Kong Film Awards. Over 50 organisations screened the film on the same date simultaneously all over Hong Kong, it tinged the most sensitive political issues… Nevertheless, "Ten Years" left us with hopelessness, helplessness, and murkiness or was it a strong thrust to fight for a hopeful future???

To the younger generation, is Hong Kong a hopeless place, or is it a place to fulfil your dreams?

Personal hope in youth

"Hope" originates internally from belief, faith and value orientation, even though the future might seem unsure, there is the belief that it can be changed, "hope is always around the corner". According to psychology, Hope is "a positive motivational state that is based on an interactively derived sense of successful agency (goal-directed energy) and pathways (planning to meet goals)." (Note 1)

To the younger generation, they are undergoing the stage of building up self-image, starting to query or even challenge traditional belief and value. They need the space and opportunity to explore within themselves, to unearth their unique qualities and potentials and then slowly learn to accept themselves as they are. Hope is a piece of raw material of life along this path of growth. Young people pursue their own dreams and goals. They experience the joy of accomplishment through this probing process with their strength and ability; alongside, they appreciate difficulties through which they acquire experiences and problem solving skills and uplift their motivation. They look for role models and connect with people of same interest and gaining mutual support. All these gradually mold a hopeful future.

Therefore, life should not be a tiresome contest, the value of our children are not about how early they start, how fast they run, nor should they be surrounded by other competitors. It is not achievement or award that they are after. A life with hope is a journey which they enjoy the process and the experiences with companions, without comparisons, to reach their own destinations.

The hope of the society

It is easy to comprehend that youth aspiration are closely linked to their personal hope, peers, family and school, however, the community in a macro sense cannot be neglected. In a society where economic benefits and development overrides everything, can it still develop in a balanced way? Can our youth get their deserved opportunities and resources? How their sense of hope is being affected by the society and politics?

The GlobeScan Foundation conducted a survey to study the hope index of 12 countries in 2014, major areas of the findings were: (1) Are socioeconomic, personal freedom and social cohesion better than in the past? (2) Do you believe the world is going in the right direction? And that our children and grandchildren will have a higher quality of life than we do today? (3) How likely, if at all, do you think it is that humanity will find a way to overcome our current social, environmental and economic challenges? (Note 2). Snyder (2000) mentioned that a high hope government is which people's opinions and action could influence government policies, there is a possibility to instigate change. Society enable people to contribute and is self-fulfilling, people possesses positive collective memories and experience and are proud of it … (Note 3). How would our young people rank the sense of hope in Hong Kong?

The future is carved by the younger generation, they have many "Ten years" to come. The society needs to treat them positively and take their opinions seriously, let our young people care for Hong Kong as a family and willing to instill hope for the future.

In the final scene of "Ten years"-- "Not too late" emerges, hope is just around the corner when you have the courage and persistence to instigate change.


Reference:
Note 1 Snyder's hope theory and Seligman's theory on positive psychology
Note 2 The Hope Index : A Survey of Citizen Views on the State of Our World, The Globescan Foundation, September 2014;
Note 3. Snyder C. R. (2000), Handbook of Hope: Theory, Measures and Applications, Academic Press.

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2016-06-10 10:41
前往目錄

 

013期2016年5月

年輕人的個人希望及社會希望

香港年輕導演創作的電影《十年》在短短數月裡引起巨大迴響,突破了一個又一個的不可能 — 反應出乎意料地熱烈、獲得香港電影金像獎、逾50 個團體於港九新界同步同日放映、觸碰了極敏感的政治話題⋯⋯。然而,《十年》是讓人感到無望無力,看到灰暗;還是激勵人為未來而奮鬥,尋找希望呢???

對年輕一代來說,香港究竟是希望匱乏的地方,還是一個希望處處,能實現夢想的家呢?

年輕人的個人「希望」

「希望」可源於人內在的信仰、信念和價值取向,即使看不清未來,仍相信「希望總在轉角處」,總能改變。而從心理學來說,「希望」可理解為人的心理狀態和推動力,不單對自己的未來感到樂觀,還能為自己訂下明確的目標,尋找到動力、方法及資源去實踐目標,建立那份「希望感」。(註1)

對青少年來說,他們正經歷著建立自我的成長階段,對父母所承傳的或社會所吹捧的信念和價值取向開始感到懷疑、迷惘,甚或作出挑戰,這是成長必經的階段。他們需要空間和機會去探索自己,發掘自己內在美麗的質素、獨特性和潛能,繼而漸漸認識、喜歡和塑造自己。在這成長路上,「希望」就好像生命的原材料,年輕人能為自己而不為滿足他人去追尋目標和夢想,在成功中肯定自己的堅毅和能力,體現夢想成真的喜悅;在失敗中欣賞自己的付出和反思,掌握解決問題的方法,不斷累積經驗、提升動力和學習方法,尋找可以模仿的對象,與志同道合的人連繫起來,彼此支持,便能漸漸對未來抱持盼望。

因此,人生不應是一場叫人身心疲累的比賽,孩子的價值亦不應在乎他跑得有多早、有多快,身旁不應盡是競爭對手,追求的更不只是成績和獎牌。「希望的人生」應是一個旅程,是可以享受和遊歷的過程,能結伴同行,毋須比較,因大家各有自己的目的地!

社會的「希望」

我們不難理解年輕人的個人希望是與他們的朋輩、家庭和學校等息息相關,但社會宏觀的影響亦不容忽略,在過度著重經濟效益及發展下,社會能有平衡的發展及關注嗎?年輕人能得到多元的機會和資源嗎?社會環境及政治等因素又怎樣影響他們的希望感呢?

The GlobeScan Foundation2014曾研究十二個國家的希望指數,所關注的包括:1.市民感到在經濟、民生、個人自由及社會凝聚上,未來會比現在更理想嗎? 2.相信社會是朝着市民所想的方向發展,而下一代的生活質素會較現在更美好嗎? 3.相信人是可以克服經濟、社會及環境的挑戰嗎?(註2) 此外,Snyder(2000)亦提及「高希望的政府」,指市民的聲音、意見或行動能影響政府的政策,有改變的可能性。社會能讓人作出貢獻及實現自我,市民能擁有正面的集體回憶和經驗,以身為當地的市民而感自豪⋯⋯(註3)我們的年輕人會為香港社會的希望打個甚麼的分數呢?

未來將是由年輕一代打造的,他們還有很多的「十年」,社會需要重視他們的聲音及作正面的肯定,讓他們關心香港這個家,願意一起為未來締造希望!

電影《十年》最後一幕出現了「為時未晚」, 只有抱著那份仍可改變的勇氣和堅持,「希望便在轉角出現」!


註(1):Snyder’s hope theory and Seligman’s theory on positive psychology
註(2):The Hope Index : A Survey of Citizen Views on the State of Our World, The Globescan Foundation, September 2014
註(3):Snyder C. R. (2000), Handbook of Hope: Theory, Measures and Applications, Academic Press

 

本頁完