Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2016-07-26 16:05
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 014
2016 July

2016 Legco Election
Youth civic participation by standing in silence

With the influx of information from internet and other social networking sites, users (especially the younger generation) are easily accessible to current affairs and their related reports just by flipping the mobile phone, there are endless pop ups of PS (Photoshop), derivative works and forum spammers .

It is undeniable that such a convenient and creative presentation can attract a lot of attention, on the bright side it indeed encourages young people to be more concern about the society, however, this fast food culture has already invaded the younger generation and many people think they can get the whole picture just by reading the caption, and some even take side blindly (2) or wage verbal attacks. These are, however, emotional outbursts on the society instead of responsible civic participation.

"Cognition and civic awakening" are fundamentals of civic participation. "Participation" in itself is the result of an action or a matter of choice, some perhaps may choose PRNN (Peace, Rational, Non-violence, non-profanity) gathering (3), some might perhaps advocate violent acts by the "valiant localism camps". After all, the key elements are qualities, motives or/and rationales of participants.

Our Happy Teens Clubs (HTC) have been actively promoting youth civic participation. There were youth community experience, children debate activities to encourage young people to explore their community through personal experiences, to build up their stance through critical and rational thinking and then to exercise their civic rights and duties. As the Legco election is drawing near, our HTC are inviting youth from different districts to participate as civilians by registering as voters, and to learn the legco system so that they know the importance of voting rights. We shall have standing in silence movement in Mongkok and post-secondary institutes before the election day. This movement symbolises the helplessness in youth who have not yet reached the age eligible for voting while they do have their call and standpoint. We encourage different sector of the community (especially youth voters) to be more concern about youth-related policies, these are not the responsibilities of the youth only.

We believe voting is a form of civic participation …

If you have a vote, do exercise your civilian right on 4 September by voting, while our youth would stand in silence outside the polling station.

Youth role played Legco counselors to expose the unfair system. Youth designed different activities for the Lego election.


Note:
(1) Captionist: those who use exaggerated, provocative captions, or just garble a statement to attract viewers.
(2) Take side: to take the side of one party's stance
(3) PRNN (Peace, Rational, Non-violence, non-profanity)

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2016-07-18 17:48
前往目錄
前往清音目錄

 

014期2016年7月

2016 立法會選舉-青年默站行動,實踐公民參與

隨著互聯網及社交平台的資訊日漸氾濫,網絡使用者(特別是年青一代)不難接觸到社會時事及相關報導,只需要在手機上滑動數下,層出不窮的「改圖」、「二創片」及「標題黨」(1)源源不絕地彈出。

無可否認,如此方便又具創意的新聞呈現方式的確能夠吸引眼球,有助鼓勵青年人接觸及認識社會。但同樣地,我們看到「速食文化」已侵入青年人資訊接收的領域,不少人單憑觀看報導標題自以為了解事實,更甚者盲目地「站邊」(2)及作出互相攻擊的言論戰爭。在我們看來,這並非有責任感的「公民參與」,而只是個人對社會不滿的一場情緒宣洩而已⋯⋯

事實上,「認知及覺醒」是「公民參與」的必要基礎。「參與」本身只是一個行動結果或一場選擇,有人或許會選擇「和理非非的集會」(3); 有人或許主張「勇武本土的衝擊」,但關鍵仍在於參與者的質素及背後動機及理念。

本處樂Teen會一直致力推動青少年作公民參與,過去曾舉辦「青年社區體驗」及「兒童辯論比賽」以鼓勵青少年從體驗中探索社會,以批判及理性思維建構個人立場,推己及人地於社會上作出符合權利與義務的公民參與。就著今年的立法會選舉,樂Teen會再次號召各區的青年人實踐公民參與,不單早於四月份鼓勵單位會員登記做選民,更一同探討及認識立法會制度,從而讓他們意識到「參與投票」的重要性。我們將於選舉前夕於旺角街頭及大專院校發起「默站行動」,以沉默靜止的狀態象徵青少年「未夠年齡投票」的無力感,但同時亦強調青年人有其訴求及立場,鼓勵社會各界(特別是青年選民)多關注青年相關政策,而非單單把問題簡化成青年的個人責任!

我們深信「參與投票」本身已經是一次公民參與⋯⋯手上有投票權的您,請克盡公民義務,於9月4日當天進場投票,與我們的青年人來一場裡應外合的「公民參與」吧!

青少年綜合服務倡導公義- 浪跡Teen 涯關社營。 青年參與模擬立法會議事過程,發表對政策的看法。



(1) 標題黨:指在網絡中故意或刻意使用較為誇張、聳動或斷章取義的文章標題,以吸引網友點擊觀看。
(2) 站邊:採取及支持某一派的立場
(3) 和理非非:全稱為「和平、理性、非暴力、非粗口」

 

本頁完