Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2016-07-26 16:45
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 015
2016 September

From Election Platform to Social Inclusion

The Legco Election held once every four years was settled with 70 seats of the geographical and functional constituencies filled. While heated debates among political parties aroused much attention, we were happy to notice that livelihood issues raised was one step closer to social inclusion.

What is “social inclusion”? One may associate it with diverse views held by people or groups with vested interest on politics, economic development, resources allocation, etc, on top of a growing concern about dissension within the society. Promoting inclusion is to strengthen social cohesion with positive attitudes like understanding, respectful and caring, to resolve conflicts. Both “social cohesion” and “social inclusion” are essential interlocking elements of social development. The stronger the cohesiveness of a society is, the more harmonious it is where people have mutual trust and respect for one another’s diversities.

However, from a macro perspective, “social inclusion” is not merely to eliminate discords at personal level. Apart from concern about marginalised groups being alienated from the community due to differences (identity such as: age, gender, race, cultural, and disadvantages like physically, economically and socially), social inclusion should be more about eliminating structural obstacles of the society, through promoting an equitable, more righteous policies and systems, those who are being isolated socially can participate in activities like social, economic, cultural and political and that their basic rights are ensured.

The election platforms exhibited candidates’ concern to the less advantaged, and aroused public concern to them within a short period of time on issues like legislation against discrimination on sex orientation, strengthen support to Ethnic Minority, disabled, children with special needs, offenders, discharged prisoners, to promote universal retirement protection scheme, elders friendly community, family friendly policy, to develop economy through communities and bazaars. And, what is more important, with the perseverance of elected counsellors, their continuous advocacies and actions, improvements of related policies and the rights of the less advantaged can be promoted. They can have the opportunity of equitable participation and contribute to the society and eventually could enjoy the fruits of social development.

When implementing the election platforms, we hope that counsellors would consider these aforementioned groups as important stakeholders and communicate with them actively and set up multiple platforms to listen to their opinions while on the other hand, they could monitor the carrying out of election platforms. This is an important process of empowerment of the deprived and social inclusion.

Lastly, we were impressed by the use of various means of promotions during the campaign: use of bilingual promotion materials, sign language, braille signs and web accessible versions in publicity materials. Getting hold of information is an important step towards equitable participation, we hope counsellors could maintain this good accessibility practice both within and outside the council.


Reference
http://www.socsc.hku.hk/cosc/Full%20paper/Kan%20Gloria_full.pdf
http://www.legco.gov.hk/yr04-05/chinese/sec/library/0405in35c.pdf

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2016-09-22 15:09
前往目錄

 

015期2016年9月

從選舉政綱看社會共融

四年一度的立法會選舉剛結束,七十個議席麈埃落定。回顧選戰過程,政制議題固然備受候選人關注,大小論壇亦不乏政黨間針鋒相對的場面。猶幸觀乎各地區候選人的政綱,仍能發現不少與民生相關,並有利促進「社會共融」的題案。

何謂「社會共融」?面對近年有關「社會撕裂」的談論日增,不少人或聯想到社會上不同利益群體之間對政治、經濟發展、資源分配等歧見。推動共融即在處理個人及組群之間的紛爭時,推廣包容、尊重與關懷的正面態度,從而增強社會凝聚力。「社會凝聚」與「社會共融」同是社會發展的重要元素,而且彼此扣連。當社會的凝聚力愈強,人與人之間愈能互相信任和尊重彼此的差異,自然會造就一個更共融的社會。

然而,若從較廣義的角度來說,「社會共融」並非只停留於化解個人層面的隔閡。除了關注社會上某些人或群體因各種差異(如身份認同包括:􀂠 年齡、性別、種族、文化以及身體、經濟、社會上的不利條件)而被社會排斥的狀況,「社會共融」更著眼於消除社會結構性障礙,透過推動更公平、更公義的政策及制度,讓被社會孤立者能全面參與社會、經濟、文化、政治等各項活動,確保他們享有其身處社會應有的基本權利。

在各地區候選人的政綱中,其實不難發現協助社會上不同被邊緣化群體的建議,例如:性傾向歧視立法、加強對少數族裔、殘疾人士、有特殊教育需要的兒童、在囚人士及釋囚的支援,以至推動全民退休保障、長者友善社區、家庭友善政策、發展社區及墟市經濟模式等。這些政綱不單反映候選人對處於社會不利位置的群體的關注,通過選舉的過程亦讓他們的狀況被看見,在短期內引起社會的關注。而且,更重要的是通過獲選的議員堅持倡導、跟進與實踐這些政綱,讓他們的社會狀況被了解、被持續關注,並透過確立及改善政策和制度,讓他們的權利得到保障,享有公平參與社會的機會,有能力貢獻社會,一同享受社會發展的成果。

在實踐政綱的過程中,我們期望議員更應視這些群體為最重要的持分者,主動與他們保持溝通,並積極設立多元平台聆聽他們的意見,讓他們有機會發聲之餘,也讓他們參與監察議員如何落實政綱,這亦是弱勢群體重要的充權及「社會共融」的過程。

最後,是次選舉特別值得讚賞的是有候選人透過多元化的方式包括:中英語宣傳、手語翻譯、點字政綱、視像宣傳等,盡力消除不同需要群體接觸資訊的障礙。掌握資訊是公平參與的重要一步,寄望獲選的議員日後仍能在議會內外持續這些良好常規。


参考:
http://www.socsc.hku.hk/cosc/Full%20paper/Kan%20Gloria_full.pdf
http://www.legco.gov.hk/yr04-05/chinese/sec/library/0405in35c.pdf

 

本頁完