Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2017-04-24 16:21
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 018
2017 March

Love and care in foster homes

Yan Yan came from a single parent family. When she was small, she had seen many fights between her parents. She lived with her father after her parents divorced. Her father later became temperamental and Yan Yan was bitten up every now and then. In fear, helplessness and lacking in love, Yan Yan shut herself from the outside world. She was put into a foster home. With the unceasing support from social worker, the concern and acceptance of her foster family despite of Yan Yan’s rebellious and lonely character, the barrier of Yan Yan was eventually knocked down. She finished university, has a stable job and a family of her own.

We have been providing foster service since 1972 and there are many loving families growing together with our foster children for over the past 45 years. Foster families provide stable family life, care and love and development for these foster children. Social workers help these children to face different life challenges, help them overcome their status as foster children and personal problems. They also provide support to these foster families to help the foster children to live their lives. For the past years, there were 270 children re-united with their own families or being adopted.

The government in its Policy Address 2017 stated that there will be 240 additional quotas for foster service. We welcome the government in acknowledging this kind of family mode of care, however, the biggest problem was the lack of foster families. Children have to wait for more than half a year to find a suitable foster home. Fostering is to take care of children who experience some kind of trauma or family problems, we are deeply in need of families who could offer their love and care to these children.

Ideal foster parents:

  • Stable and happy family
  • Healthy and emotionally stable
  • Aged 25 or above
  • Primary education or above
  • Tidy and safe home with sufficient living space
  • Fond of children, have the ability and experience to take care of children
  • Able to offer comprehensive care to children
  • Willing to be inspected and supervised by social workers

If you would like to have further information about foster care, we could introduce to you or your association on foster service. Please call us at 2492 6088 and contact our social worker on duty.

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2017-04-24 16:18
前往目錄
前往清音目錄

 

018期2017年3月

人間有情 寄住有愛

欣欣來自一個單親家庭,從小目睹父母不斷地打打鬧鬧,父母離婚後,欣欣跟隨父親居住。離婚後的父親情緒變得大起大落,動輒打駡欣欣,令欣欣終日生活在恐懼、無助及缺乏關愛的世界裡。漸漸地,欣欣關上她的心窗,不願與人交往,也不願接受成人的教導。社工後來安排欣欣入住寄養家庭,在寄養社工的支援下,加上寄養父母及寄養兄姐對欣欣不離不棄,包容接納欣欣的反叛及孤獨性格,日復日的用不同方法嘗試打破欣欣心中的圍牆。經過幾年的努力,欣欣終於軟化了,慢慢融入寄養家庭的生活,心也開始安定下來。在寄養父母的勸導下,欣欣努力學習,最終完成大學課程,有穩定工作及建立了自己的家庭。

本處自1972年起提供寄養服務,過去45年我們與一群疼愛孩子的寄養家庭一起陪伴一群又一群孩子成長。寄養家庭為孩子提供穩定的生活、溫柔細緻的關愛,以及各種成長發展的機會;寄養社工則一方面陪伴著孩子面對人生的不同挑戰,協助孩子接受他的寄養身份及面對家庭和個人問題,另一方面為寄養家長提供培訓支援,陪伴寄養兒童走他們不平凡的人生路。在過去十年,我們曾服務的寄養兒童中,有逾270 名成功回家與家人團聚或接受領養。

政府在2017年的施政報告中提出會分階段增加240個寄養服務名額。我們歡迎政府堅守家庭式照顧的方向,但現時最大困難是寄養家庭嚴重不足,輪候服務的孩子往往超過半年也未能獲配對合適的寄養家庭。寄養服務

所照顧的是一群經歷創傷或家庭問題的兒童,我們極需要一群喜愛兒童的寄養家庭加入服務行列。

    理想的寄養家長﹕
  • 家庭生活愉快,生活安定
  • 身體健康及情緒穩定
  • 年齡在二十五歲或以上
  • 有小學或以上程度
  • 家居整潔安全,並有足夠居住面積
  • 喜愛兒童,有照顧兒童的經驗及能力
  • 能為兒童安排妥善的照顧計劃
  • 願意接受社工的調查及督導

如你希望進一步了解寄養服務,又或你所屬的團體/ 組織能讓我們介紹寄養服務,請致電2492-6088與我們的當值社工聯絡。

本頁完