Hong Kong Christian Service

This Web Page is updated on 2017-04-24 12:31
Go to CS Voice Index
go to CS Voice Index

 

Issue 018
2017 March

Looking forward to a reform on early childhood education

In September 2017 the government will implement free early childhood education for children aged 3 to 6. That said it will be formally included in the education subvention scheme. However, it only applies to children of half-day mode, for whole day and long whole day mode, parents still have to pay some school fees. It is still quite far away from diversified free education. Hong Kong needs a comprehensive review and planning on early childhood education: little has been done to support education and caring for children aged 0 to 3; the government fails to come up with detailed planning and development for special pre-school education; the lack of accurate information on parenting and necessary space for educational parenting activities; parents are running into snags amidst the piecemeal and other so-called parenting information.

To encourage young couples to have children, let young women can choose between family and work, working parents can work with their mind at ease, all depends on whether our childhood education policies are in place. The development of kindergartens for children aged 0-3 has been stagnant for 20 years. There are only 12 government subsidised childcare centres in all 18 districts, its quota is few and waiting time is long. The subsidy has been maintained at a level of less than 10%; related legislation and requirement for facilities is still at the standards of the 70s. Moreover, long-whole day mode kindergartens which was intended for working parents and needy families has been stagnant since the last decade. Raising children is family-based but it has become the sole responsibility of the family as there is no related community support.

For children aged 0 – 6 with special needs, although the government implemented the Pilot Scheme on On-site Pre-school Rehabilitation Services in 2016 to shorten the waiting lists that exceeded 7000 people, the list has now reached 9000. With regard to this experimental service model, its necessary manpower and venue arrangements still have a lot to improve. Furthermore, coordination among other related pre-school services such as early education training centres, special child care centres, kindergarten-cum-child care centres, subsidised training projects for children, speech therapists and Central Support Services have all to be addressed to in order to maximise community resources.

A higher level of platform for children development and education must be set up whether to review or plan that professionals from various disciplines can be drawn together to integrate and balance families’ and children’s needs in terms of medical, educational, environmental and community facilities etc.

We also look forward to setting up a data bank for children aged 0-8 for a comprehensive review for policies on young children that is based on data. The data bank provides information for Hong Kong-wide and district based analysis and research for the sector to understand needs of local children and their parents and provide innovative and appropriate services accordingly.

Lastly, we advocate to setting up young children parent-child centres in various districts to address to family needs. Children can participate in games for functional development under the monitoring of staff for timely intervention, while parents can take a break there, to share, to learn and consult professionals for information on raising children, to relish on quality parenting courses and to establish supportive networks with other fellow parents.

It needs support from early childhood education professionals, commitment from cross-disciplinary professionals, listening and collaboration from government to bring forth a macro and comprehensive early childhood education reform. We look forward to a bona-fide cooperation from all sectors to work for the benefit of our children.

End of Page

香港基督教服務處

本頁更新於 2017-03-30 16:13
前往目錄

 

018期2017年3月

期待幼兒教育服務的變革

2 0 1 7 年9 月政府將實施免費幼稚園教育( 3 - 6 歲) , 將幼兒教育正式納入教育資助體系內,唯只資助半日 制幼稚園,全日和長全日制學生仍需由家長負擔部份 學費,距離多元免費教育模式的路仍遠; 而對0 - 3 歲 嬰幼兒教顧服務的社會承托更乏善可陳。學前特殊教育 方面亦欠缺週詳規劃及發展,正確育兒資訊和具教育性 的親子活動空間欠奉。家長們往往在碎片化及難分真偽 的教養資訊中碰壁,香港幼兒教育服務實在需要全面檢 視和規劃。

鼓勵年青夫婦生育,讓年青女性在家庭及工作崗位中有選擇,雙職父母能安心工作,這一切均有賴本港育兒政策是否到位。0-3歲負責專業教顧的幼兒園,冰封20年沒有發展。現時全港18區內只有12間政府資助幼兒中心,名額少而輪候時間長, 資助更長期維持在10%以下;而法例和設備要求則停留在70年代的標準。另為雙職父母及有需要家庭而設的長全日幼兒學校亦已凍結發展逾十年。育兒責任以「家庭為本」,全由父母獨力承擔,欠社會承托。

至於0-6歲有特殊學習需要的兒童方面,雖然政府於2016年針對學前康復服務有超過7,000名的輪候者果斷地推行了「到校學前康復服務試驗計劃」,唯現時輪候人數更達至9,000人,而試驗中的服務模式、人力配套和場地安排等仍待改善。此外,相關計劃與現時其他學前康復服務,如早期教育及訓練中心、特殊幼兒中心、幼稚園暨幼兒中心兼收計劃、為輪候資助學前康復服務的兒童提供學習訓練津貼計劃、地區言語治療服務及中央輔助醫療服務課的支援服務如何整合和分工,必須全面檢視,以求善用社會資源。

不論進行檢視或規劃,必須成立較高層次的兒童發展及教育諮議平台,凝聚不同界別的專業人士,恆常、有系統、實在地綜合與平衡家庭和兒童對醫療、教育、環境空間及社區設施等各方面的需要。

我們更期望政府能建立0-8歲兒童資料庫,以數據啟動整全的反思,使釐訂育幼及兒童政策時能有據可依。相關資料更可作全港性或分區的剖析及研究,並讓業界更了解本土以致各區家長及兒童的真確需要,提供創新而適切的服務。

最後,我們倡議在不同社區設立嬰幼兒親子館,以承托家庭需要。幼兒可在友善環境下參與具發展功能的遊戲,有專人觀察嬰幼兒發展狀況,在需要時可及早介入;而家長則可在館內歇息、交流、上課、向專業人士查詢正確育兒資訊,享受優質親職及家長教育課程,並與同路人建立支援網絡。

宏觀、整全的幼兒教育服務變革,需要幼教專業的倡議、跨界別人士的委身、以及政府的聆聽和配合。期望各界能衷誠合作,為香港幼兒的福祉共同努力。

本頁完